Task delay without resetting the watchdog timer?

franck102

Task delay without resetting the watchdog timer?

Postby franck102 » Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Hi all,

I am new to ESP32 programming, coming from Arduino, and I am struggling with the task watchdog timer.

The function below is a task handler, I am trying to init subsystems (SPIFFS, Wire...).
I want to try the inits in a loop, with a short delay between attempts, and I want the watchdog to reset the ESP after say 5 seconds.

Because vTaskDelay feeds the watchdog, I am using a busy loop below, which is kind of ugly: is there any way to replace my busy loop with a
delay_but_don't_reset_watchdog(100) ?

In other terms I'd like the task to yield to other tasks, but still get the watchdog to trigger after 5s.

Any suggestion?
Thanks!
Franck

Code: Select all

void setup()
{
    esp_task_wdt_init(5, true);
    xTaskCreatePinnedToCore(initSystems, "Init Systems", 10000, NULL, 3, &InitSystemsTask, 1);
}

Code: Select all

void initSystems(void *param)
{
    esp_task_wdt_add(NULL);

// SPIFFS
    unsigned long now = millis();
    while (!SPIFFS.begin(true)) {
        while (millis() - now < 100u);
    }
    esp_task_wdt_reset();

now = millis();
    while (!Wire.begin()) {
        debug("Failed to start Wire");
        while (millis() - now < 100u);
    }
    esp_task_wdt_reset();
}

ESP_Dazz

Re: Task delay without resetting the watchdog timer?

Postby ESP_Dazz » Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:10 pm

vTaskDelay() itself does not feed the Task Watchdog. It is the IDLE task that feeds the Task watchdog.

When you call vTaskDelay(), your current initSystems() task is put into the blocked state, allowing the operating system to schedule another task. If not other tasks are in the ready state, it will default to running the IDLE task (IDLE0 or IDLE1, one for each CPU) which has the lowest priority of 0 (thus why it only runs when no other higher priority task is in the ready state).