ESP32-WROVER-DEV Module: How to use SSD1306 with board?

julianwieg
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2022 9:41 pm

ESP32-WROVER-DEV Module: How to use SSD1306 with board?

Postby julianwieg » Tue Feb 01, 2022 9:50 pm

Hi,

I have the above board and would like to use an SSD1306 OLED display at the same time. However, pins 23 and 21 for SCL and SDA are already occupied for the camera. The board has other explicitly named pins SCLK and SD0 and SD1.
If I now use the SSD1306 library from Adafruit, how can I select the pin assignment so that it works?

Where can I read up on this topic? I keep having trouble using multiple components at the same time. As a layman, I would assume that the camera and the display can occupy the same pins and then the code executed one after the other (camera web server and OLED display) will work. But it doesn't seem to be like that.

I would be pleased to receive any tips on how to proceed.
Thank you!

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9591
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ESP32-WROVER-DEV Module: How to use SSD1306 with board?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Wed Feb 02, 2022 2:43 am

I don't think there's a board called the "ESP32-Wrover-DEV", certainly not with a camera. Do you have a link to what you're using? Additionally, what SDK do you use? (Arduino, ESP-IDF, MicroPython, ...)

julianwieg
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2022 9:41 pm

Re: ESP32-WROVER-DEV Module: How to use SSD1306 with board?

Postby julianwieg » Wed Feb 02, 2022 11:47 am

Thank you for your answer!

Oh yes I just saw, you can't find it when you google it.
Here is the Amazon link: https://www.amazon.de/Freenove-ESP32-WR ... ast_sto_dp

You can download the data sheet under this link: https://www.freenove.com/tutorial.html
(at the bottom "FNK0060")

On page 3 and 4 you can see the PIN assignment. I use the Arduino IDE. How do I have to name the PINs in my code to address them correctly? 1 to 30 I suppose, right?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9591
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ESP32-WROVER-DEV Module: How to use SSD1306 with board?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Wed Feb 02, 2022 11:57 am

I'm not familiar with that board, but I think Arduino generally uses the ESP32 GPIO numbers rather than the pins of a devboard. So you'd need to track the pins back to the ESP32, then check if they're connected to a GPIOxx pin, then use that xx in your arduino code.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 145 guests