Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

sere_dev
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2021 9:37 am

Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby sere_dev » Sun Aug 15, 2021 9:40 am

Looking at some of the datasheets that were posted in the forum it seems like the block diagram of the ESP32 S3 won't have a DAC (the og ESP32 had 2x8bit DACs).

The original block diagram released in January had one :(

Are there plans to add any DAC functionality before release?

dmaxben
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:04 pm

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby dmaxben » Thu Aug 19, 2021 11:37 am

I would be surprised if the ESP32-S3 removed the DAC....but I guess if thats the case, you could still do pseudo-DAC with PWM/LEDc and an RC filter...?

User avatar
ESP_krzychb
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:05 am
Contact:

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby ESP_krzychb » Fri Aug 20, 2021 3:21 am

Hi sere_dev and dmaxben,
The upcoming ESP32-S3 does not have DAC1 and DAC2 peripherals.

sere_dev
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2021 9:37 am

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby sere_dev » Fri Aug 20, 2021 3:20 pm

@
ESP_krzychb wrote:ESP_krzychb
Oh that's sad to hear :( the dac was so useful!

User avatar
Vader_Mester
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:28 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby Vader_Mester » Tue Aug 24, 2021 8:27 am

ESP_krzychb wrote:
Fri Aug 20, 2021 3:21 am
Hi sere_dev and dmaxben,
The upcoming ESP32-S3 does not have DAC1 and DAC2 peripherals.
That's a bummer. Are you going to provide something else instead of the DAC? I wanted to use it as embedded audio, or we are left with an external DAC and I2S?

Code: Select all

task_t coffeeTask()
{
	while(atWork){
		if(!xStreamBufferIsEmpty(mug)){
			coffeeDrink(mug);
		} else {
			xTaskCreate(sBrew, "brew", 9000, &mug, 1, NULL);
			xSemaphoreTake(sCoffeeRdy, portMAX_DELAY);
		}
	}
	vTaskDelete(NULL);
}

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9577
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:35 am

I2S will have a PDM option; this is more-or-less the same idea as PWM but better. You can effectively feed your audio into the I2S peripheral, have a RC-filter (or ideally a better one, but RC should be sufficient) on the output pins, then connect a speaker to that.

User avatar
Vader_Mester
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:28 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby Vader_Mester » Thu Aug 26, 2021 7:20 am

ESP_Sprite wrote:
Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:35 am
I2S will have a PDM option; this is more-or-less the same idea as PWM but better. You can effectively feed your audio into the I2S peripheral, have a RC-filter (or ideally a better one, but RC should be sufficient) on the output pins, then connect a speaker to that.
Thanks Jeroen!
It is a good idea. On vanilla ESP32, I wanted to use the ULP to feed data to the DAC, simillar to Bitluni's approach.
Now comes the question: Can the DMA handle the LCD/CAM interface and I2S simultaneously? I'm using DMA heavy stuff with LCD peripheral. According to the latest S3 TRM (From July), if I just put the LCD and I2S into 2 different DMA channels, that should do the trick?

Code: Select all

task_t coffeeTask()
{
	while(atWork){
		if(!xStreamBufferIsEmpty(mug)){
			coffeeDrink(mug);
		} else {
			xTaskCreate(sBrew, "brew", 9000, &mug, 1, NULL);
			xSemaphoreTake(sCoffeeRdy, portMAX_DELAY);
		}
	}
	vTaskDelete(NULL);
}

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9577
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Aug 26, 2021 7:25 am

Yeah, should work.

eriksl
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2023 3:23 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby eriksl » Fri Aug 09, 2024 6:43 pm

And what if I just want to output a simple DC voltage (yes it needs to be purely DC, it cannot be an rectified oscillating voltage). That would mean using PWM and adding quite a high quality R-C-L filter which I'd rather avoid. Bummer!

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9577
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Is it true that the ESP32 S3 will remove the DAC?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:52 pm

eriksl wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2024 6:43 pm
And what if I just want to output a simple DC voltage (yes it needs to be purely DC, it cannot be an rectified oscillating voltage). That would mean using PWM and adding quite a high quality R-C-L filter which I'd rather avoid. Bummer!
It depends. PDM can work at pretty high frequencies, so depending on what you need, you may be able to get away with a simple sallen-key lowpass filter.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 211 guests