How to check Arduino version?
How to check Arduino version?
I want my programs to show used software versions on startup.
I use esp_get_idf_version() to check ESP IDF version.
How do I check the arduino-esp32 version?
Or does each ESP IDF version also correspond to a corresponding arduino-esp32 version?
I use esp_get_idf_version() to check ESP IDF version.
How do I check the arduino-esp32 version?
Or does each ESP IDF version also correspond to a corresponding arduino-esp32 version?
Re: How to check Arduino version?
After carefully editing a very detailed follow up the forum software crashed and I have to start all over again... It's not the first time I see this.
So I will post multiple shorter messagesnow , one after the other
Background: The reason why I asked is that I have found a bug which I suspected to be in esp32-arduino:
If i do touchRead(32) and touchRead(33) the pins are swapped.
touchRead(32) reads pin 33 and vice versa.
The following issue seems to talk about the issue:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/issues/3584
and there is also a fix for it:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... 1a63579378
The system I use here does not look like including the fix.
That leaves me with a couple of questions.
So I will post multiple shorter messagesnow , one after the other
Background: The reason why I asked is that I have found a bug which I suspected to be in esp32-arduino:
If i do touchRead(32) and touchRead(33) the pins are swapped.
touchRead(32) reads pin 33 and vice versa.
The following issue seems to talk about the issue:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/issues/3584
and there is also a fix for it:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... 1a63579378
The system I use here does not look like including the fix.
That leaves me with a couple of questions.
Re: How to check Arduino version?
* Is there a function or a macro that shows me the exact esp32-arduino version a program was compiled with?
I have tried to change the file by hand but took a wrong one, so
* Where is the used software stored in my file system?
The friendly compiler tells me
"arduino15" sounds unexpected, but ok, I'll try to edit ~/.arduino15/packages/esp32/hardware/esp32/1.0.4/cores/esp32/esp32-hal-gpio.c for a test next, but I would rather let git do the work, as there might be much more then this one issue.
* Is there something like a development branch or something that I can check?
What is the right way to install that?
The above mentioned issue is closed. As it is not working here I do assume I used a wrong software version. Or is there something wrong with the fix and I should reopen the issue?
Thanks a lot for any help
I have tried to change the file by hand but took a wrong one, so
* Where is the used software stored in my file system?
The friendly compiler tells me
Code: Select all
Using core 'esp32' from platform in folder: /home/xxxx/.arduino15/packages/esp32/hardware/esp32/1.0.4
* Is there something like a development branch or something that I can check?
What is the right way to install that?
The above mentioned issue is closed. As it is not working here I do assume I used a wrong software version. Or is there something wrong with the fix and I should reopen the issue?
Thanks a lot for any help
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: How to check Arduino version?
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... structions
Note, it is more likely that the paint on your board is incorrect rather than the pins being switched. AFAIK, the pin numbers are directly passed through to the touch API. Are the pins reversed if you try an analogRead on 32 & 33?
Note, it is more likely that the paint on your board is incorrect rather than the pins being switched. AFAIK, the pin numbers are directly passed through to the touch API. Are the pins reversed if you try an analogRead on 32 & 33?
Re: How to check Arduino version?
Following the link you gave "latest stable release" and "latest development release" are both v1.04 from october 19, but the fix was checked in december 19. This only adds to my confusion.
| Note, it is more likely that the paint on your board is incorrect rather than the pins being switched.
That was also my first reaction, but it shows on very different esp32 boards and only with
touchRead() while analogRead() is taking the right pin.
I have a function to see the values as a horizontal bar graph to check things like touch interrupt level or values from analog sensors.
So if I touch pin 32 and show analogRead(32) I see the mains hum flashing by on the serial monitor:
while A33 stays quiet, as it should be.
Pins are *not* swapped with analogRead().
touchRead(32) does not show much activity when touching pin 32 but
touchRead(33) does (still touching pin 32).
Pins 32,33 *are* swapped for touchRead().
| AFAIK, the pin numbers are directly passed through to the touch API.
no, I don't think so. They get translated to the TOUCH_PAD_NUM. See https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... h_pad.html
| Note, it is more likely that the paint on your board is incorrect rather than the pins being switched.
That was also my first reaction, but it shows on very different esp32 boards and only with
touchRead() while analogRead() is taking the right pin.
I have a function to see the values as a horizontal bar graph to check things like touch interrupt level or values from analog sensors.
So if I touch pin 32 and show analogRead(32) I see the mains hum flashing by on the serial monitor:
Code: Select all
*A32 0 0
*A32 1751 ****************************
*A32 2642 ******************************************
*A32 602 **********
*A32 496 ********
*A32 406 *******
*A32 332 ******
*A32 267 *****
*A32 210 ****
*A32 158 ***
*A32 109 **
*A32 68 **
*A32 39 *
*A32 10 *
*A32 0 0
*A32 1063 *****************
*A32 607 **********
*A32 635 **********
*A32 651 ***********
*A32 1706 ***************************
*A32 1408 ***********************
*A32 1168 *******************
*A32 939 ***************
*A32 701 ***********
*A32 528 *********
*A32 386 *******
*A32 286 *****
*A32 206 ****
*A32 144 ***
*A32 94 **
*A32 55 *
*A32 31 *
*A32 9 *
*A32 0 0
Pins are *not* swapped with analogRead().
touchRead(32) does not show much activity when touching pin 32 but
touchRead(33) does (still touching pin 32).
Pins 32,33 *are* swapped for touchRead().
Code: Select all
*T33 75 *******************************
*T33 76 *******************************
*T33 75 *******************************
*T33 76 *******************************
*T33 75 *******************************
*T33 28 ************ <<<< here I touch pin 32 (*not* pin 33)
*T33 5 ***
*T33 6 ***
*T33 7 ***
*T33 5 ***
*T33 4 **
*T33 5 ***
*T33 4 **
*T33 5 ***
*T33 5 ***
*T33 4 **
*T33 5 ***
*T33 4 **
*T33 5 ***
*T33 15 ******* <<< pin 32 released
*T33 72 *****************************
*T33 17 *******
*T33 5 ***
*T33 68 ****************************
*T33 43 ******************
*T33 71 *****************************
*T33 73 ******************************
*T33 71 *****************************
*T33 70 *****************************
*T33 69 ****************************
no, I don't think so. They get translated to the TOUCH_PAD_NUM. See https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... h_pad.html
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: How to check Arduino version?
The link above explains how to install the development repo. There are a number of newer branches in there. The esp32s2 branch includes a newer version of the touch hal. Test that branch and see if it fixes the issue. If not, post an issue in the repo.
Re: How to check Arduino version?
I have some new problems that could be related to a possible bug in arduino-esp32 or the corresponding ESP IDF.
Before bothering people with issue reports missing version informations I want to ask the initial question of this thread again:
I want my programs to show used software versions on startup.
I use esp_get_idf_version() to check ESP IDF version.
How do I check the arduino-esp32 version?
btw: the problem is related to BluetoothSerial
Before bothering people with issue reports missing version informations I want to ask the initial question of this thread again:
I want my programs to show used software versions on startup.
I use esp_get_idf_version() to check ESP IDF version.
How do I check the arduino-esp32 version?
btw: the problem is related to BluetoothSerial
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: How to check Arduino version?
There is no function in arduino-esp32 to get the version before 2.0.
You can make a table to match idf version (the bit after the -g in esp_get_idf_version) to arduino versions. That info can be gleaned out of the release notes at https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/releases.
You can make a table to match idf version (the bit after the -g in esp_get_idf_version) to arduino versions. That info can be gleaned out of the release notes at https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/releases.
Re: How to check Arduino version?
Thank you for the information. Would be nice to get this possibility in later versions.
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: How to check Arduino version?
Both arduino-esp32 and esp-idf will have defined macros (and macro functions) for this going forward.
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... _version.h
https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/bl ... _version.h
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... _version.h
https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/bl ... _version.h
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests