GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Ritesh
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby Ritesh » Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:28 pm

Hi,

I am working on ESP32 since ESP32-idf 0.9 V SDK has been released. So, I am using GPIO33 (32K_XN) as standard IO with which one LED is connected into my product in which we have used ESP32 chip.

So, When I started to work on ESP32-idf 0.9 RTOS SDK at that time I have checked that GPIO33 was working fine means i was able to turn on/off that LED with GPIO33 was configured as output mode. So, Meanwhile I was updating my ESP32-idf RTOS SDK using "git pull" command to sync with updated SDK.

Now, I am not able to access same GPIO33 in output with HIGH/LOW with updated ESP32-idf SDK and I have also verified that it is working fine into older SDK as my application code is same into both case. So, only I have just updated RTOS SDK and my functionality is broken with that GPIO33.

So, does anyone has idea or any clue for this type of issue as it was working before and now it is not working as i just updateed ESP32-idf RTOS with latest changes?

Also, that pin is shared with different interfaces (GPIO33, 32K_XN (32.768 kHz crystal oscillator output),
ADC1_CH5, TOUCH8, RTC_GPIO8) but we are not using other interfaces except GPIO.

Let me know anyone has any update regarding this issue.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby WiFive » Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:52 pm

https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/issues/143

You have most recent changes from github?

Ritesh
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby Ritesh » Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:09 am

WiFive wrote:https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/issues/143

You have most recent changes from github?
Hi,

Thanks for quick reply.

But as I have looked thread which you have provided in which someone has mentioned that GPIO33 is configured as default RTC and someone has mentioned that it is configured as default Crystal.

So, I just want to know which one is correct to confirm it as IO instead of other default configuration?

Please let me know if you have any idea or solution for that.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby WiFive » Sun Dec 11, 2016 5:15 am

Don't rely on default, always set the configuration you need.

Ritesh
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby Ritesh » Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:01 am

WiFive wrote:Don't rely on default, always set the configuration you need.
Hi,

Thanks for Reply.

I will try GPIO configurations for GPIO33 and will let you know if need any help from your side.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

Ritesh
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby Ritesh » Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:40 am

Hi,

GPIO33 issue has been resolved after clearing RTC bit which is default bit selected for that GPIO33.

Code: Select all

/* gpio33 route to digital io_mux */
REG_CLR_BIT(RTC_IO_XTAL_32K_PAD_REG, RTC_IO_X32N_MUX_SEL);
So, Anyone can use GPIO33 as standard IO using above configurations. Thanks for support for that.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

Ritesh
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby Ritesh » Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:19 am

Hello WiFive,

Sorry for too much late reply.

Would you please confirm that issue has been fixed into latest stable release 3.2 or 3.1? because I didn't do any follow up regarding this issue and one of developer might be facing issue like this.

So, Please confirm from your end regarding this issue and get back to us if any changes required into ESP32 IDF 3.2 to use it as Input or Output Mode.

I have checked that it is shared with RTC, ADC and other interfaces and also can be used it as Input/Output mode as per requirement.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

somesh
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:44 am
Location: Pune
Contact:

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby somesh » Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:43 am

Ritesh wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:19 am
Hello WiFive,

Sorry for too much late reply.

Would you please confirm that issue has been fixed into latest stable release 3.2 or 3.1? because I didn't do any follow up regarding this issue and one of developer might be facing issue like this.

So, Please confirm from your end regarding this issue and get back to us if any changes required into ESP32 IDF 3.2 to use it as Input or Output Mode.

I have checked that it is shared with RTC, ADC and other interfaces and also can be used it as Input/Output mode as per requirement.
Hi Ritesh and Espressif team,

I am using GPIO33 as output to control the LED(different blinking states). but if I keep my esp32 live for long time it is seen that after some days(its random) my LED is getting OFF( or esp is getting hang). if I switch esp OFF and ON again, the LED works.
Please help me to solve this issue.
Thanks,
Somesh Burkule

Ritesh
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby Ritesh » Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:51 am

somesh wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:43 am
Ritesh wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:19 am
Hello WiFive,

Sorry for too much late reply.

Would you please confirm that issue has been fixed into latest stable release 3.2 or 3.1? because I didn't do any follow up regarding this issue and one of developer might be facing issue like this.

So, Please confirm from your end regarding this issue and get back to us if any changes required into ESP32 IDF 3.2 to use it as Input or Output Mode.

I have checked that it is shared with RTC, ADC and other interfaces and also can be used it as Input/Output mode as per requirement.
Hi Ritesh and Espressif team,

I am using GPIO33 as output to control the LED(different blinking states). but if I keep my esp32 live for long time it is seen that after some days(its random) my LED is getting OFF( or esp is getting hang). if I switch esp OFF and ON again, the LED works.
Please help me to solve this issue.
Hello Somesh,

As per your issue, it seems like your complete system is going to stuck somewhere due to that GPIO33 LED blinking is stopped. So, I believe there is no any issue for GPIO perspective but might be issue into synchronization or scheduling is not happened properly.

So, Would you please create one dummy task and print one debug statement every one second and keep system into running state?

So that you can have idea like what can be the problem like complete system is going to stuck or something like that.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

somesh
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:44 am
Location: Pune
Contact:

Re: GPIO33 is not working as IO into ESP32-idf RTOS SDK

Postby somesh » Fri Jun 28, 2019 5:46 am

Ritesh wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:51 am
somesh wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:43 am
Ritesh wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:19 am
Hello WiFive,

Sorry for too much late reply.

Would you please confirm that issue has been fixed into latest stable release 3.2 or 3.1? because I didn't do any follow up regarding this issue and one of developer might be facing issue like this.

So, Please confirm from your end regarding this issue and get back to us if any changes required into ESP32 IDF 3.2 to use it as Input or Output Mode.

I have checked that it is shared with RTC, ADC and other interfaces and also can be used it as Input/Output mode as per requirement.
Hi Ritesh and Espressif team,

I am using GPIO33 as output to control the LED(different blinking states). but if I keep my esp32 live for long time it is seen that after some days(its random) my LED is getting OFF( or esp is getting hang). if I switch esp OFF and ON again, the LED works.
Please help me to solve this issue.
Hello Somesh,

As per your issue, it seems like your complete system is going to stuck somewhere due to that GPIO33 LED blinking is stopped. So, I believe there is no any issue for GPIO perspective but might be issue into synchronization or scheduling is not happened properly.

So, Would you please create one dummy task and print one debug statement every one second and keep system into running state?

So that you can have idea like what can be the problem like complete system is going to stuck or something like that.
Hi Ritesh,
I am using watchdog timer so that if any task or system fails it will reset esp.
anyways I will try with dummy task as you said and let you know.
Thanks,
Somesh Burkule

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], REEASD, snutw_ and 133 guests