Builds are too big and take too long?

Deouss
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby Deouss » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:23 pm

That's related to either bad PC - faulty hardware like ram or HD - or something wrong with IDF.
Make sure it is python 2.7 not 3
Also try running cmd.exe in separate window

xiaolongba
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:35 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby xiaolongba » Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:39 am

Deouss wrote:That's related to either bad PC - faulty hardware like ram or HD - or something wrong with IDF.
Make sure it is python 2.7 not 3
Also try running cmd.exe in separate window
solved.as u can see in the picture,it is python2.7 not 3.the reason is the codepage of python2.7 is GBK,when i change the codepage to OEM-437 in

Code: Select all

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Console
and it can work well.

at last,thanks for your help. ;)

Deouss
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby Deouss » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:34 am

Nice. So you are able to compile project?

stoikos
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 4:38 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby stoikos » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:33 pm

try make flash -j5

xiaolongba
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:35 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby xiaolongba » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:09 am

Deouss wrote:Nice. So you are able to compile project?
yes.thanks for your help :D

xiaolongba
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:35 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby xiaolongba » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:11 am

stoikos wrote:try make flash -j5
this method is also can work well.but the cmake idf is not bad.

Deouss
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby Deouss » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:14 am

I'm glad to hear that) I'll try that option - thanks for hints

xiaolongba
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:35 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby xiaolongba » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:21 am

Deouss wrote:Nice. So you are able to compile project?
btw.In fact, I have implemented vscode+bash to develop esp32 before, but I wrote it in Chinese. At the same time, the garbled problem has not been solved, and now these problems have been solved.the github addr as shown as belown:
https://github.com/xiaolongba/wireless- ... 5%A2%83.md

Deouss
Posts: 425
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby Deouss » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:33 am

Well I don't know how you guys are running menuconfig but the cleanest way I do that is :
powershell idf.py menuconfig
- from Integrated terminal - by default terminal.integrated.shell.windows = cmd.exe (or powershell)
if it is cmd.exe all compilation logs are staying in same window unlike with powershell but menuconfig fails because of column limit to display

xiaolongba
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 11:35 am

Re: Builds are too big and take too long?

Postby xiaolongba » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:38 pm

Deouss wrote:Well I don't know how you guys are running menuconfig but the cleanest way I do that is :
powershell idf.py menuconfig
- from Integrated terminal - by default terminal.integrated.shell.windows = cmd.exe (or powershell)
if it is cmd.exe all compilation logs are staying in same window unlike with powershell but menuconfig fails because of column limit to display
u are right.I have encountered this problem.so i do it like this

Code: Select all

G:\\Project\\esp32\\toolchain\\msys32\\mingw32.exe make menuconfig
the same to the

Code: Select all

powershell idf.py menuconfig
:lol:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 71 guests