Task watchdog got triggered with OTA example

SJKim0122
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 10:12 am

Task watchdog got triggered with OTA example

Postby SJKim0122 » Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:15 am

Hello, I'm trying to develop a device with the OTA feature, and now using the below example.

https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/tr ... system/ota

It rarely got success, but in almost all cases, I got the below message.
스크린샷 2018-07-04 오후 6.56.40.png
스크린샷 2018-07-04 오후 6.56.40.png (73.24 KiB) Viewed 6756 times

I tried to put vTaskDelay(10) and watchdog deinit or reset, but got nothing at all.

I don't know the exact reason and what I use now is the official example. The task does not come up again if it fall into that situation.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

ESP_Dazz
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:50 am

Re: Task watchdog got triggered with OTA example

Postby ESP_Dazz » Wed Jul 04, 2018 1:51 pm

Try to see if any of the following modifications can suppress the issue:
- Increase Task Watchdog Timeout Period in menuconfig (e.g. from 5 seconds to 10)
- Add a short vTaskDelay(10) at the end of the while (socket_flag) { loop so that there is a short gap between every iteration

SJKim0122
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 10:12 am

Re: Task watchdog got triggered with OTA example

Postby SJKim0122 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 2:16 am

Sorry but both of what you suggested didn't work.

I already tried vTaskDelay with many values, but it doesn't affect anything.

After changing the time in menuconfig, the delay got longer after
<E (1794) wifi: pp.c 3379>.
스크린샷 2018-07-05 오전 11.11.15.png
스크린샷 2018-07-05 오전 11.11.15.png (67.98 KiB) Viewed 6718 times



But it still stops after some writings, and delay didn't recover the situation.

I think there might be some error in pp.c showed in that log message.

Thank you for your help, and let me know if you have any other ideas.

SJKim0122
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 10:12 am

Re: Task watchdog got triggered with OTA example

Postby SJKim0122 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:37 am

Finally I got what the problem is.

The AP I connected to used WEP encryption, and somehow it makes the error above.

After chaning to WPA2PSK encryption, the error went away and didn't appear anymore.

You should write this somewhere in the docs or fix the issue with WEP encrypted AP to prevent others from getting the same errors.

Please let me know if there's any workaround for WEP, otherwise, it seems I have to handle this by counting the failures.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ESP_Roland and 127 guests