ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
Hi
Could I assign a root node by myself and without a router in mesh network?
I want to build a mesh network but I don't need a router. The data just transmitted in the mesh network.
How to do that?
Could I assign a root node by myself and without a router in mesh network?
I want to build a mesh network but I don't need a router. The data just transmitted in the mesh network.
How to do that?
-
- Posts: 9708
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
Moved to MDF forum.
-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 12:31 pm
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
Non-router network isn't supported yet.
But you could assign a root node by esp_mesh_set_parent.
But you could assign a root node by esp_mesh_set_parent.
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
Hi ESP_yudong
Have the plan to support non-router mode?
What time can deliver?
Have the plan to support non-router mode?
What time can deliver?
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
Is there any progress on router-less root-node selection?
I also just need node-to-node communication w/o a router.
I also just need node-to-node communication w/o a router.
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
My application only requires node-to-node communication.
It is desired to operate the mesh w/o any infrastructure and thus w/o router.
It would be okay to select a fixed node as the root.
Is this possible?
It is desired to operate the mesh w/o any infrastructure and thus w/o router.
It would be okay to select a fixed node as the root.
Is this possible?
-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 12:31 pm
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
Try "esp_mesh_set_parent()" and "esp_mesh_fix_root()"
Then you can set one device as root with a nonexistent router. I’m not sure if this is what you need.
https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/tr ... networking
Then you can set one device as root with a nonexistent router. I’m not sure if this is what you need.
https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/tr ... networking
rlezuo wrote:My application only requires node-to-node communication.
It is desired to operate the mesh w/o any infrastructure and thus w/o router.
It would be okay to select a fixed node as the root.
Is this possible?
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
This line: https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/bl ... main.c#L91
The root node is looking for a WiFi Router, the example does not work if the WiFi Router is off.
Why is this?
The root node is looking for a WiFi Router, the example does not work if the WiFi Router is off.
Why is this?
-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 12:31 pm
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
The example is not for non-router network, just show how to use ‘esp_mesh_set_parent‘.
When you already have a mesh network established, and then turn off the router, the mesh network will not be destroyed if root node keep alive. So it's possible to establish a mesh network using 'esp_mesh_set_parent' to assign a root node even the router doesn't exist.
I hope this will meet your needs.
When you already have a mesh network established, and then turn off the router, the mesh network will not be destroyed if root node keep alive. So it's possible to establish a mesh network using 'esp_mesh_set_parent' to assign a root node even the router doesn't exist.
I hope this will meet your needs.
Re: ESP32 mesh network manual assign root node
I also would like to use ESP32 devices to form a large (50 - 100 nodes) WiFi mesh network that does NOT require a router. Does Espressif have any plans to add support for this?
Thank you!
Thank you!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests