ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Prashant1982
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2023 3:58 am

ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Postby Prashant1982 » Mon Sep 25, 2023 4:19 pm

Dear,

We are getting the ADC and flash issues with ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 Modules which were totally not present in the Version v3.0.

New Modules details are given below,
esptool.py --chip esp32 -p /dev/ttyUSB0 chip_id
esptool.py v3.3.3
Serial port /dev/ttyUSB0
Connecting....
Chip is ESP32-D0WD-V3 (revision v3.1)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: 08:d1:f9:8d:56:94
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Warning: ESP32 has no Chip ID. Reading MAC instead.
MAC: 08:d1:f9:8d:56:94
Hard resetting via RTS pin...

Old Details details are given below,
esptool.py --chip esp32 -p /dev/ttyUSB0 chip_id
esptool.py v3.3.3
Serial port /dev/ttyUSB0
Connecting.......
Chip is ESP32-D0WD-V3 (revision v3.0)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: 24:d7:eb:6a:03:58
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Warning: ESP32 has no Chip ID. Reading MAC instead.
MAC: 24:d7:eb:6a:03:58
Hard resetting via RTS pin...

New Modules run for few minutes only then after we are started getting issue Like ADC reading gets dropped automatically, then Modules started restarting then Module did not reply for flash erase or new flash download.

Please let us know if anyone got such kind of issues or i am doing the some mistakes ( but we have already dispatched many devices with old version module)

Thank you in advance for your help.

Thanks,
Prashant

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9730
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Sep 26, 2023 12:04 am

We'll need a bit more information: what do you mean with readings getting 'dropped'? Do you have logs for the other issues? Also, do you have a schematic you can share?

Prashant1982
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2023 3:58 am

Re: ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Postby Prashant1982 » Tue Sep 26, 2023 1:24 am

Please find the attached schematics for your reference, However same schematics worked with older version but not new version.

Please find below some more details
1. Old Version XX0H28
2. New Version MGN16R8

Please let us know if you need more information.

Thanks,
Prashant
Attachments
Schematic.pdf
(35.71 KiB) Downloaded 153 times

Prashant1982
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2023 3:58 am

Re: ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Postby Prashant1982 » Tue Sep 26, 2023 1:40 am

Please find the below information also, as per our understanding it is related to the flash only because after few minutes nothing works not even detecting the module also.

prashant@prashant-Latitude-5480:~$ esptool.py flash_id
esptool.py v3.3.3
Found 1 serial ports
Serial port /dev/ttyUSB0
Connecting.......
Detecting chip type... Unsupported detection protocol, switching and trying again...
Connecting.........
Detecting chip type... ESP32
Chip is ESP32-D0WD-V3 (revision v3.1)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: 08:d1:f9:8d:51:d0
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Manufacturer: c8
Device: 4018
Detected flash size: 16MB
Hard resetting via RTS pin...
prashant@prashant-Latitude-5480:~$ esptool.py read_flash_status --bytes 3
esptool.py v3.3.3
Found 1 serial ports
Serial port /dev/ttyUSB0
Connecting.......
Detecting chip type... Unsupported detection protocol, switching and trying again...
Connecting....
Detecting chip type... ESP32
Chip is ESP32-D0WD-V3 (revision v3.1)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: 08:d1:f9:8d:51:d0
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Status value: 0x200200
Hard resetting via RTS pin...

Hoping above information will help you for providing some sort of solution, as we got struck in between where we installed the Device at Customer place and started getting the new order but can not deliver with the new modules because of these issues.

Thanks,
Prashant
Attachments
NEW ESP32 ADC Issues-2.txt
(23.68 KiB) Downloaded 120 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9730
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Sep 26, 2023 6:08 am

Erm... you're likely running the module out of spec. 3.6V is at the absolute maximum you can run one, but given your power source is labeled 'Vbat', I imagine you're running it directly from a LiIon cell. The voltage on that can go all the way from 2.5Vish when discharged up to 4.2V when it's fresh out of a charger. Needless to say, the ESP32 (and also the flash and psram inside the module) is not made for that and might very well break in the way you describe.

Prashant1982
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2023 3:58 am

Re: ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Postby Prashant1982 » Tue Sep 26, 2023 11:37 am

We are using the 3.6V Lithium Thionyl Chloride Battery which Voltage is less than 3.6 (3.5 or 3.45V). We mentioned the 3.6V for reference only instead of 3.3V.

However same things worked for Version 3.0 Module not with Version 3.1.

Is there any measure difference between these version so Version 3.1 stop working after sometimes.

Thanks,
Prashant

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9730
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ESP32 Wrover E Version v3.1 getting issues for flash and adc but working with old Version v3.0

Postby ESP_Sprite » Wed Sep 27, 2023 1:45 am

Prashant1982 wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2023 11:37 am
Is there any measure difference between these version so Version 3.1 stop working after sometimes.
Possibly the flash used inside the module is different, but when using the modules within spec, that shouldn't lead to an issue.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gaston1980 and 131 guests