i'm designing a pcb based on esp32 chip, first i want to test uploading the code with ft232 module, so I took my esp-wroom-32 devkit and ft232 and stuck into a problem - the code is not flashing with error "A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to ESP32: No serial data received.". my wiring now is ft232 -> esp32 | rx -> tx0; tx -> rx0; gnd -> gnd; vcio -> vin. I also supply esp32 board with 5v power supply.
What can be the problem?
ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
-
- Posts: 9766
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
If you're using a devkit, the on-board USB-serial chip already is connected to those pins. Connecting an external FT232 leads to a conflict between those two.
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2023 1:41 pm
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
yeah, there is cp2102 on my devboard. but I tried to flash a code on my custom pcb and there is the same problem I described above, I can share schematics if it is important.ESP_Sprite wrote: ↑Thu Jul 20, 2023 1:43 amIf you're using a devkit, the on-board USB-serial chip already is connected to those pins. Connecting an external FT232 leads to a conflict between those two.
-
- Posts: 9766
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
Let's focus on that board then. Schematics would be useful. Also, if you run a standard serial port terminal program on the FT232s COM-port and you turn on the ESP32, do you get anything?
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2023 1:41 pm
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
schematics in attachments. If i monitor my board theres a clear terminalESP_Sprite wrote: ↑Thu Jul 20, 2023 9:59 amLet's focus on that board then. Schematics would be useful. Also, if you run a standard serial port terminal program on the FT232s COM-port and you turn on the ESP32, do you get anything?
- Attachments
-
- esp.PDF
- (237.72 KiB) Downloaded 443 times
-
- Posts: 9766
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
If anything, the FT232 is a 3.3V device so there's no need for the level shifter (?) around VT1/VT2. (I'm not even sure what those circuits are supposed to do, simulating gives me nothing on the output.)
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2023 1:41 pm
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
But my ft232 module has 5v jumper (mb I misunderstand smth). Anyway I'm going to redesign my board adding cp2102 at least. Thx for replies (cool instrument for simulating by the way).ESP_Sprite wrote: ↑Fri Jul 21, 2023 2:15 amIf anything, the FT232 is a 3.3V device so there's no need for the level shifter (?) around VT1/VT2. (I'm not even sure what those circuits are supposed to do, simulating gives me nothing on the output.)
-
- Posts: 9766
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
I think that only sets the power supply output pin, the IO still is 3.3V.razdvakoma wrote: ↑Fri Jul 21, 2023 7:24 amBut my ft232 module has 5v jumper (mb I misunderstand smth). Anyway I'm going to redesign my board adding cp2102 at least. Thx for replies (cool instrument for simulating by the way).
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2023 1:41 pm
Re: ft232 to esp32 module flash the code
Well, for those who are interested - adding pull-up resistor to gpio0 solved the problem. Other circuit elements in my scheme are quite OK, but still theres A LOT to improve
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 112 guests