Hi all,
I'm doing a design in a custom PCB including the ESP32-S3FN8, and I have some questions about the usage of certain pins, concretely the 32, 33, 34 and 35. Theorically, according to the datasheet, these pins are used by the flash in package.
But can we also use these pins for another thing? And in this case, can we use this pins as GPIO at the same time that the flash in package is being used?
Pins SPI, ESP32 S3
-
- Posts: 9769
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: Pins SPI, ESP32 S3
No. On the S series chips, with ESP-IDF as it is right now, it's not possible to use the flash pins for anything else. (Theoretically you could connect another SPI device to it, but software support for that is hairy so ESP-IDF does not support that at this moment.)
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2023 11:48 am
Re: Pins SPI, ESP32 S3
Hi,
Firstly, thanks for the answer!
Anoter question related to this... We have the ESP32-S3FN8, which does not have In-Package PSRAM.
We want to use the GPIO26 (SPICS1), which according to the datasheet is used for In-Package PSRAM. As we do not have, it should be that easy to use as a normal GPIO, shouldn't be?
But when we configure this GPIO it does not work. Do you know why?
Firstly, thanks for the answer!
Anoter question related to this... We have the ESP32-S3FN8, which does not have In-Package PSRAM.
We want to use the GPIO26 (SPICS1), which according to the datasheet is used for In-Package PSRAM. As we do not have, it should be that easy to use as a normal GPIO, shouldn't be?
But when we configure this GPIO it does not work. Do you know why?
-
- Posts: 9769
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: Pins SPI, ESP32 S3
It should, indeed. How are you configuring that pin? Does gpio_reset() help?
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2023 11:48 am
Re: Pins SPI, ESP32 S3
We are using these functions to configure the GPIO:
gpio_reset_pin(GPIO_NUM_26);
gpio_set_direction(GPIO_NUM_26, GPIO_MODE_OUTPUT);
And the, we put the GPIO to '1', but always stays in '0':
gpio_set_level(GPIO_NUM_26, 1);
We tried some other GPIOs and they work fine
gpio_reset_pin(GPIO_NUM_26);
gpio_set_direction(GPIO_NUM_26, GPIO_MODE_OUTPUT);
And the, we put the GPIO to '1', but always stays in '0':
gpio_set_level(GPIO_NUM_26, 1);
We tried some other GPIOs and they work fine
-
- Posts: 9769
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: Pins SPI, ESP32 S3
Strange. You're using the chip itself, and not a module?
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2023 11:48 am
Re: Pins SPI, ESP32 S3
Yes, we are using the chip itself, concretely the ESP32-S3FN8
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 99 guests