I have purchased WROOM-32D modules from 2 different sources that return "ESP32-D0WDQ5" when queried with "ESP.getChipModel()"
I have done a bunch of internet searching but can not find information regarding this revision.
Could somebody please enlighten me regarding where the D0WDQ5 fits in the ESP32 family.
ESP32-D0WDQ5
-
- Posts: 9727
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ESP32-D0WDQ5
See the datasheet, chapter 7 (page 50). Note that these are the specs for only the ESP32 chip in the module; the module also contains a separate flash chip.
Re: ESP32-D0WDQ5
Thank you for the quick reply
I looked at page 50 of the data sheet and find no reference to "Q5". In fact a ctrl F find of the entire data sheet returns no mention of "Q5"
It does mention Q6 and N/A but no Q5 in the "Package" field
Package
Q6 = QFN 6*6
N/A = QFN 5*5
Can one infer from this that Q5 equates to the QFN 5*5 package and that this is the only difference from the Q6?
I looked at page 50 of the data sheet and find no reference to "Q5". In fact a ctrl F find of the entire data sheet returns no mention of "Q5"
It does mention Q6 and N/A but no Q5 in the "Package" field
Package
Q6 = QFN 6*6
N/A = QFN 5*5
Can one infer from this that Q5 equates to the QFN 5*5 package and that this is the only difference from the Q6?
-
- Posts: 9727
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ESP32-D0WDQ5
Yes, that is likely given those modules indeed do contain a -Q5 chip.
Re: ESP32-D0WDQ5
I bought ESP32-S just recently, they were quite cheap on Amazon (~$3). I was hoping to use in my ESP32-CAM custom board. After soldering to the motherboard, the module works but runs hotter than usual (above 60C vs usual 47-50C). The camera on the board is initializing normally, the type of the camera is returned successfully and the sensor structure is accessible with no issue. However, I cannot get the frame buffer, esp_camera_fb_get() returns a null pointer.
I tried to check the board, all the connectivity seems to be identical to the development board, no difference. I was thinking this is related to my PSRAM chip, but it is detected normally, without any problems, and reports the 4MB size correctly. Also tried to reduce the XCLK to 5MHz, as it was advised on some forums, but it did not help.
The only difference with the working ESP32-CAM dev board seems to be the chip model:
This is shown on the board that is not working (frame buffer is returning null pointer):
[Codebox]"cpu_freq":240,
"cpu_model":"ESP32-D0WDQ5",
"cpu_revision":3,
"flash_size":4194304,
"flash_speed":80000000,
"esp_temp":61,
"heap_avail":286652,
"heap_free":138404,
"heap_min_free":95836,
"heap_max_bloc":94196,
"psram_found":true,
"psram_size":4192075,
"psram_free":3973139,
"psram_min_free":3967379,
"psram_max_bloc":3932148[/Codebox]
This is shown on the stock ESP-CAM working board:
[Codebox]"cpu_freq":240,
"cpu_model":"ESP32-D0WDQ6",
"cpu_revision":1,
"flash_size":4194304,
"flash_speed":80000000,
"esp_temp":47,
"heap_avail":286796,
"heap_free":139740,
"heap_min_free":129992,
"heap_max_bloc":94196,
"psram_found":true,
"psram_size":4192075,
"psram_free":3973139,
"psram_min_free":3973139,
"psram_max_bloc":3932148[/Codebox]
As you can see, the only difference is the CPU model and heap size. The sketch code is identical on both boards.
Is it possible that the chip revision Q5 is the root cause of the problem? My perception is that it runs a bit slower and there avail heap size is less.
I tried to check the board, all the connectivity seems to be identical to the development board, no difference. I was thinking this is related to my PSRAM chip, but it is detected normally, without any problems, and reports the 4MB size correctly. Also tried to reduce the XCLK to 5MHz, as it was advised on some forums, but it did not help.
The only difference with the working ESP32-CAM dev board seems to be the chip model:
This is shown on the board that is not working (frame buffer is returning null pointer):
[Codebox]"cpu_freq":240,
"cpu_model":"ESP32-D0WDQ5",
"cpu_revision":3,
"flash_size":4194304,
"flash_speed":80000000,
"esp_temp":61,
"heap_avail":286652,
"heap_free":138404,
"heap_min_free":95836,
"heap_max_bloc":94196,
"psram_found":true,
"psram_size":4192075,
"psram_free":3973139,
"psram_min_free":3967379,
"psram_max_bloc":3932148[/Codebox]
This is shown on the stock ESP-CAM working board:
[Codebox]"cpu_freq":240,
"cpu_model":"ESP32-D0WDQ6",
"cpu_revision":1,
"flash_size":4194304,
"flash_speed":80000000,
"esp_temp":47,
"heap_avail":286796,
"heap_free":139740,
"heap_min_free":129992,
"heap_max_bloc":94196,
"psram_found":true,
"psram_size":4192075,
"psram_free":3973139,
"psram_min_free":3973139,
"psram_max_bloc":3932148[/Codebox]
As you can see, the only difference is the CPU model and heap size. The sketch code is identical on both boards.
Is it possible that the chip revision Q5 is the root cause of the problem? My perception is that it runs a bit slower and there avail heap size is less.
-
- Posts: 9727
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ESP32-D0WDQ5
No. Q5 is not a chip revision, it's a QFN package size indicator. The silicon in -Q6 and -Q5 packages is not correlated to the package.
Re: ESP32-D0WDQ5
Thank you for your response!ESP_Sprite wrote: ↑Fri Feb 17, 2023 7:47 amNo. Q5 is not a chip revision, it's a QFN package size indicator. The silicon in -Q6 and -Q5 packages is not correlated to the package.
Looks like you are right. I tested the same chip on a standard ESP32-CAM PCB and it works fine. I could even fix the chip temperature - it went down when I re-soldered the chip and added a bit more soldering paste at the ground plane at the back of ESP32S. Now the temp is below 50C, looking ok. However, teh problem with farme buffer is still there. Probably related to my PCB design but I can;t figure out what exactly is incorrect with it.
Re: ESP32-D0WDQ5
Figured the issue. My PCB had incorrect C13 capacitor value on the PCLK line (GPIO22) - 100n instead of 15pF as suggested on the reference diagram. After unsoldering it, the camera started working as expected.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 78 guests