I'm trying to integrate Alexa to my project however it doesnt work as it should do. For example if I make a custom device for a co2 or humidity sensor it show me such sensor on alexa however it doesnt display the reading value at it does in esp rainmaker. Below it what I have. I am using arduino ide.
Sample:
static Device my_hum("Humidity","esp.device.humidity", NULL);
Node my_node;
my_node = RMaker.initNode("Air Quality");
Param humParam("Humidity", "esp.param.temperature", value(dht_humidity), PROP_FLAG_READ );
my_hum.addNameParam();
my_hum.addParam(humParam);
my_hum.assignPrimaryParam(my_hum.getParamByName("Humidity"));
my_node.addDevice(my_hum);
my_hum.updateAndReportParam("Humidity", dht_humidity);
Like I said it works perfectly on esp rainmaker but in the alexa app the humidity sensor show up empty without any value.
I am using the esp.param.temperature as it the only one I see for sensors. I have try others but still the same.
Also, this doesnt happen when using the Temperature_Sensor Api from esp rainmaker as it shows the temp sensor with the actual reading in alexa. I have thought about using it but alexa reads it as a temp sensor and the value that it would show says temperature.
Anyone can help me with this please, on how to make a custom sensor device like humidity and let alexa know the param reading and display it in the alexa app.
Thanks.
3rd Party Integration(Alexa) Not working Corretly
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2022 4:41 am
-
- Posts: 307
- Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:02 am
Re: 3rd Party Integration(Alexa) Not working Corretly
Humidty sensor is not a standard device type in Alexa and since temperature is not a generic controller like range/toggle/mode controller, it does not work with device types other than esp.device.temperature-sensor. There's no generic controller to support humidity.
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2022 4:41 am
Re: 3rd Party Integration(Alexa) Not working Corretly
Yeah I see. However; if I make devices using the Other type the device shows up in alexa but it shows empty. It doesnt have the humidity reading value. How can I make this work.
Re: 3rd Party Integration(Alexa) Not working Corretly
This might help, if anyone comes back to this thread.
https://medium.com/comsystoreply/alexa- ... 65f30a3739
https://medium.com/comsystoreply/alexa- ... 65f30a3739
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests