Changing ESP32 Classic project to ESP32 C3

renantesch
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2022 2:52 pm

Changing ESP32 Classic project to ESP32 C3

Postby renantesch » Sun Oct 16, 2022 3:18 pm

Hello People!

I'm changing my project that i use the microcontroller ESP32 Classic with 4MB flash, i'm changings this project to ESP32 C3, but i have an problem, in first build i'm not get success, because my project is more larger in ESP32 C3 than in ESP32 Classic.
I'm attaching some prints where i set the comand "idf.py size-components", and some libs is more larger in ESP32 C3!

This is my partition table!

# ESP-IDF Partition Table
# Name, Type, SubType, Offset, Size,
factory, app, factory, 0x10000, 1310K
ota_0, app, ota_0, , 1310K
ota_1, app, ota_1, , 1310K
otadata, data, ota, , 8K,
nvs, data, nvs, , 16K,
phy_init, data, phy, , 4K,

I'm doing something wrong, or is this a normal architectural change effect?
Size-components ESP32 Classic.jpg
Size-components ESP32 Classic.jpg (289.67 KiB) Viewed 1639 times
Size-components ESP32 C3.jpg
Size-components ESP32 C3.jpg (280.54 KiB) Viewed 1639 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9739
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Changing ESP32 Classic project to ESP32 C3

Postby ESP_Sprite » Mon Oct 17, 2022 12:13 am

Some differences are indeed to be expected: not only do the chips not have the same CPU core (RiscV vs Xtensa), the peripherals used in them are also different meaning different code paths in the libraries are used.

renantesch
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2022 2:52 pm

Re: Changing ESP32 Classic project to ESP32 C3

Postby renantesch » Mon Oct 17, 2022 1:24 am

Ok, thanks for response!
Has some help that we use to the resolve this problem?
I'm use diverses components, for example!

HTTP Server, HTTP Client, MQTT, Provisioning AESCrypt etc!

How can I know how each of these components was written?

I'm using IDF version 4.4.1.
Last edited by renantesch on Mon Oct 17, 2022 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9739
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Changing ESP32 Classic project to ESP32 C3

Postby ESP_Sprite » Mon Oct 17, 2022 4:53 am

How do you mean 'how each of these components was written'? In general, sources of all those components come with ESP-IDF, you can just browse through them if you want.

renantesch
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2022 2:52 pm

Re: Changing ESP32 Classic project to ESP32 C3

Postby renantesch » Tue Oct 18, 2022 11:13 pm

Yes, yes, but I wanted to understand why the components are bigger, but I'm change my code to running in 4MB in ESP32-C3, i'm not have another option.

Thanks!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 57 guests