Page 1 of 1

Can't get the esp-idf launchbar to show 2.12.1 and 3.0.0

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2024 2:35 am
by gtjoseph
I don't get it. I was trying to set up a parallel eclipse environment so I could test the 3.0.0 plugin without disturbing my working 2.12.1 environment but every install permutation I've tried results in the launchbar not showing up.

Tried the following, each time completely deleting the eclipse install directory and workspace... The error log always shows...

Code: Select all

!SESSION 2024-08-14 19:55:58.256 -----------------------------------------------
eclipse.buildId=4.30.0.20231201-1200
java.version=22.0.2
java.vendor=Red Hat, Inc.
BootLoader constants: OS=linux, ARCH=x86_64, WS=gtk, NL=en_US
Framework arguments:  -product org.eclipse.epp.package.embedcpp.product
Command-line arguments:  -os linux -ws gtk -arch x86_64 -product org.eclipse.epp.package.embedcpp.product -data file:/usr/src/mcu/esp32/workspace-3.0.0/

!ENTRY org.eclipse.launchbar.core 2 0 2024-08-14 19:56:07.778
!MESSAGE Enablement expression is missing for descriptor type com.espressif.idf.debug.gdbjtag.openocd.descriptorType

!ENTRY org.eclipse.launchbar.core 2 0 2024-08-14 19:56:07.778
!MESSAGE Enablement expression is missing for config provider for com.espressif.idf.debug.gdbjtag.openocd.descriptorType

!ENTRY org.eclipse.launchbar.core 2 0 2024-08-14 19:56:07.778
!MESSAGE Enablement expression is missing for config provider for com.espressif.idf.launch.serial.core.idf.descriptorType

!ENTRY org.eclipse.launchbar.core 2 0 2024-08-14 19:56:07.778
!MESSAGE Enablement expression is missing for descriptor type com.espressif.idf.launch.serial.core.idf.descriptorType

!ENTRY com.espressif.idf.core 1 0 2024-08-14 19:56:08.190
!MESSAGE Eclipse Install location::file:/usr/src/eclipse/embedcpp-2023-12-esp32/eclipse/

!ENTRY com.espressif.idf.core 1 0 2024-08-14 19:56:08.190
!MESSAGE esp-idf.json file doesnt exist at this location: /usr/src/eclipse/embedcpp-2023-12-esp32/eclipse/
The Espressif menu and settings all show up fine but without the launchbar, I can only set the target platform by running `idf.py set-target` from the commandf line. If I then try to build from Eclipse I get complaints that the current target (esp32s3 which is correct) doesn't match the launchbar target (esp32s2 which I can't change since the launchbar isn't available).

I'm lost. I can't even recreate the 2024-06 + 2.12.1 running environment I already have and I'm afraid to touch it for fear of breaking it as well.

Any ideas?

Re: Can't get the esp-idf launchbar to show 2.12.1 and 3.0.0

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2024 6:36 am
by martins
Have you tried IDE package? Thats the Eclipse pre-packaged with plugin by Espressif. It seems to be working reasonably well for me. Well on Linux at least.

Re: Can't get the esp-idf launchbar to show 2.12.1 and 3.0.0

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2024 1:42 pm
by gtjoseph
martins wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2024 6:36 am
Have you tried IDE package? Thats the Eclipse pre-packaged with plugin by Espressif. It seems to be working reasonably well for me. Well on Linux at least.
Yeah, that does actually work fine, It's just aggravating that I can't get the plugin to work in native Eclipse any more. I don't know what I could have done to break it. I even deleted and recreated my ~/.eclipse and ~/.p2 directories. It's frustrating.

Re: Can't get the esp-idf launchbar to show 2.12.1 and 3.0.0

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2024 6:40 am
by martins
gtjoseph wrote:
Thu Aug 15, 2024 1:42 pm
Yeah, that does actually work fine, It's just aggravating that I can't get the plugin to work in native Eclipse any more. I don't know what I could have done to break it. I even deleted and recreated my ~/.eclipse and ~/.p2 directories. It's frustrating.
Well at least that, but it is weird.

Also, when I was using Eclipse + Plugin installed manually I used regular C/C++ IDE, not Embedded one. Could that be an issue?

Re: Can't get the esp-idf launchbar to show 2.12.1 and 3.0.0

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2024 6:36 pm
by gtjoseph
Well, I figured it out. I hadn't created a new workspace in so long that I forgot to enable the launchbar under Preferences > Run/Debug > Launching > LaunchBar. Rookie mistake. I should be ashamed of myself. :).