Page 1 of 1

(solved) getting VSCode to use a specific IDF

Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2021 11:05 pm
by mzimmers
Hi all -

When I began with VS Code and the IDF plugin, my IDF was located in $HOME/esp/esp-idf. I've since downloaded v4.3.1 (using git clone), and would like to use this version. I've tried to make the change in the extension setup, but I'm still using the original version. (I say this because if I focus on a reference to an IDF routine, and hit F12, it opens the file in the original location.)

What have I forgotten?

Thanks...

Re: getting VSCode to use a specific IDF

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 10:05 am
by ESP_bignacio
Check if your project directory has a `.vscode/settings.json` file with configuration settings such as `idf.espIdfPath` overriding the user level settings.

Make sure to:

1) Choose Select where to save configuration settings command and choose the workspace folder to save the settings.
2) Or `.vscode/settings.json` settings that are overriding user level settings

Here is the documentation about settings precedence: https://github.com/espressif/vscode-esp ... ROJECTS.md

Re: getting VSCode to use a specific IDF

Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2021 2:33 pm
by mzimmers
Hi bignacio -

Yes, that was the problem exactly. I removed that line from my settings.json file, (had to do a clean to empty the cmake cache) and rebuilt...I'm now picking up the right repository. Thanks for the help.