Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Help needed with VS code and Windows

Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:34 pm
by gunar.kroeger
I have installed all prerequisites and the extension through the marketplace, configured according to instructions there and started a project based on the blink example.

When I build the project, I get a "Build Successfully" message.

The 2 issues I have now are:
1- include errors detected
vscode1.png
vscode1.png (196.26 KiB) Viewed 7547 times
vscode2.png
vscode2.png (22.13 KiB) Viewed 7547 times
vscode3.png
vscode3.png (189.63 KiB) Viewed 7547 times
2- when opening the project I am directed to the Onboarding screen every time. I don't know if this is expected or if there is something wrong with the configuration.

I tried uninstalling everything and reinstalling 3 times, with the same results.

I'm really looking forward to using VS code! hopefully it will be a fast and robust development experience compared to eclipse and make!

Thanks

Re: Help needed with VS code and Windows

Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 7:38 pm
by boarchuz
1. You need to configure Intellisense. I suggest using the 'compile_commands.json' config described here: https://github.com/espressif/vscode-esp ... URATION.md (make sure you build).

2. There is a checkbox on the onboarding page that says something like "Show onboarding on startup". Uncheck that.

Re: Help needed with VS code and Windows

Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2020 10:25 pm
by gunar.kroeger
Hmm I don't understand how to do that, the compile_commands.json is generated automatically when I build the project, so if I replace the contents with the configuration in this link, it gets overwritten with the picture I attached and doesn't solve my issue.

Could you explain this step further?

Re: Help needed with VS code and Windows

Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:02 am
by boarchuz
Don't touch compile_commands.json. Only edit c_cpp_properties.json.

I mean that there are two methods described at that link. I suggest using number 2.

Re: Help needed with VS code and Windows

Posted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:13 pm
by gunar.kroeger
Aaah that worked!

I see how I should have been able to deduce that, but I suggest clarifying this step or automating it if possible for the next users.

I also had an issue while installing from the marketplace "virtualenv: error: unrecognized arguments: --no-site-packages""

The solution was to run the command "python.exe -m pip install --upgrade virtualenv==16.7.9"
It seems there was already a fix for this issue https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/issues/4744, but it is not applied to the marketplace version.

I think everything is working now. I'll get back with feedback!
thanks for the help