Page 1 of 1

UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2023 5:55 am
by Suresh_C
Hi,
I am using ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8 in my project. I require two set of UART lines , I can use pin 34 and 35 as one set. what are all the pins I can use for UART lines?
When I look at the IC datasheet, I found there are three set of UART lines so I look up the I/O MUX table to find it. I found that the pins that has UART is already used for other purpose in the module. Can I use other pins as UART?
I am attaching the I/O MUX table and the blue highlighted text represents the UART Lines.

Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8

Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2023 5:57 pm
by MicroController
Can I use other pins as UART?
Yes: https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... ation-pins

Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 5:57 am
by Suresh_C
Hi,
If is it possible to configure any GPIO pins as UART then why do manufacturers particularly specify UART pins in I/O MUX table.

Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 9:06 am
by ESP_Sprite
Because that's the 'default' pins for that function; e.g. the ROM uses (or can use) those.

Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 9:09 am
by Suresh_C
Kindly explain in detail.

Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 12:23 pm
by MicroController
Suresh_C wrote:
Mon Nov 27, 2023 5:57 am
If is it possible to configure any GPIO pins as UART then why do manufacturers particularly specify UART pins in I/O MUX table.
Because that is what the IO MUX can do. If this is what you need, you can route a signal to/via the IO MUX directly. If it's not, you can/have to use the GPIO matrix to route the signal to the IO MUX. TL;DR: IO MUX and GPIO matrix are different things; both are used/set up if/as needed by the IDF's drivers to connect signals to desired pins.

Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8

Posted: Mon Nov 27, 2023 12:35 pm
by Suresh_C
Hi,
Thank you for the explanation.
I understand that we can use any GPIO pin as UART. If ESP32 supports 3 UART that means I cannot able to configure more than 3 UART.
Am I right?