ESP32 Master and ESP32Cam Slave works sometimes
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2023 6:21 am
Hello,
I have a ESP32 Master and ESP32Cam Slave.
The ESP32 Master sends a GPIO wake to the slave and then the slave wakes up and sends a image serially.
Being using this code
https://forum.arduino.cc/t/transfer-pic ... droidblast
The ESP32 Master is a T-SIM7600 with a WRover-B onboard.
Pins exposed are 3.3v not 5v.
Connected to my IDE as Serial Com 6.
Pins 15, 14 receive the image sent serially by the slave ESP32Cam.
I sent a GPIO high from Pin 5 to the slave on Pin 12.
The ESP32Cam is a AL-thinker ESP32CAM.
Research tells me to use 5v to power which I do via a FTDI.
Connected to my IDE as Serial Com 9.
Pins UOR and UOT connect to the FTDI to give me visibility to debug.
Receives a wake via GPIO 5 going high.
Have a common ground between master and slave.
Couple of issues I cant get my head around.
Slave when booting for example below doesnt always boot or wake from sleep.
Tied to the take the code back to as minimal as possible for example.
Slave ESP32Cam is just a webserver with a deep sleep command.
Master ESP32 sends a GPIO high (Pin 5 to slave Pin 12) to wake.
Seems to work as expected.
Issues arise that sometimes I need to reboot master to get code writing to slave or slave doesnt wake, or partially wakes.
So my question is if the am I doing anything wrong from a setup point of view with
Ardindo IDE to the Master ESP32 Com6 (powered by 3.3v usb)
Ardindo to the Slave ESP32Cam Com9 (powered by 5v FTDI/usb)
Common ground between Master and Slave.
The T-Sim7600 needs at least 2a so I have a powered USB hub in place while testing.
I have a USB power monitor so its not a lack of current issue.
Ideas thoughts please?
I have a ESP32 Master and ESP32Cam Slave.
The ESP32 Master sends a GPIO wake to the slave and then the slave wakes up and sends a image serially.
Being using this code
https://forum.arduino.cc/t/transfer-pic ... droidblast
The ESP32 Master is a T-SIM7600 with a WRover-B onboard.
Pins exposed are 3.3v not 5v.
Connected to my IDE as Serial Com 6.
Pins 15, 14 receive the image sent serially by the slave ESP32Cam.
I sent a GPIO high from Pin 5 to the slave on Pin 12.
The ESP32Cam is a AL-thinker ESP32CAM.
Research tells me to use 5v to power which I do via a FTDI.
Connected to my IDE as Serial Com 9.
Pins UOR and UOT connect to the FTDI to give me visibility to debug.
Receives a wake via GPIO 5 going high.
Have a common ground between master and slave.
Couple of issues I cant get my head around.
Slave when booting for example below doesnt always boot or wake from sleep.
Code: Select all
17:07:31.406 -> rst:0x10 (RTCWDT_RTC_RESET),boot:0x33 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
17:07:31.406 -> flash read err, 1000
17:07:31.406 -> ets_main.c 371
17:07:31.735 -> ets Jun 8 2016 00:22:57
17:07:31.735 ->
17:07:31.735 -> rst:0x10 (RTCWDT_RTC_RESET),boot:0x33 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
17:07:31.735 -> flash read err, 1000
17:07:31.735 -> ets_main.c 371
17:07:32.155 -> ets Jun 8 2016 00:22:57
17:07:32.155 ->
17:07:32.155 -> rst:0x10 (RTCWDT_RTC_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
17:07:32.155 -> configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
17:07:32.155 -> clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
17:07:32.155 -> mode:DIO, clock div:1
17:07:32.155 -> load:0x3fff0018,len:4
17:07:32.155 -> load:0x3fff001c,len:1216
17:07:32.155 -> ho 0 tail 12 room 4
17:07:32.155 -> load:0x40078000,len:10944
17:07:32.155 -> load:0x40080400,len:6388
17:07:32.155 -> entry 0x400806b4
17:07:33.755 ->
17:07:35.159 -> ......
17:07:37.693 -> WiFi connected
Slave ESP32Cam is just a webserver with a deep sleep command.
Master ESP32 sends a GPIO high (Pin 5 to slave Pin 12) to wake.
Seems to work as expected.
Issues arise that sometimes I need to reboot master to get code writing to slave or slave doesnt wake, or partially wakes.
So my question is if the am I doing anything wrong from a setup point of view with
Ardindo IDE to the Master ESP32 Com6 (powered by 3.3v usb)
Ardindo to the Slave ESP32Cam Com9 (powered by 5v FTDI/usb)
Common ground between Master and Slave.
The T-Sim7600 needs at least 2a so I have a powered USB hub in place while testing.
I have a USB power monitor so its not a lack of current issue.
Ideas thoughts please?