Page 1 of 1
esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 7:41 pm
by iamcalledusman
Hi All,
Need your help, I have installed the esp-IDF and espressif tools for esp32_c3. Version is the master branch. I also tried all versions of esp-idf 4.1,4.2 and 4.3 all have the same response. The response is that esp32_c3 reboots again and again with the following as mentioned in the attached image "reboots_continously". Can you help me in this regard? Everything works well, compiling and downloading into esp32_c3
Thanks in Advance
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 7:56 pm
by chegewara
Just make sure you are not using strapping pins:
The strapping combination of GPIO8 = 0 and GPIO9 = 0 is invalid and will trigger unexpected behavior.
page 14:
https://www.espressif.com/sites/default ... eet_en.pdf
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:43 am
by iamcalledusman
thank you so much for the response. No, i am not using the strapping pins ,. One thing more which I have observed is that I have installed the esp-idf into another pc and its still working fine. In comparison between these two PCs, I have observed one thing that the working PC has the following sdkconfig file as attached wth the esp32_c3 is enabled and another image is attached with nonworking pc with esp32 enabled.
Is that the issue? can you help me where to enable esp32_c3 so that it gets enabled in the esp32_c3 file? I manually changed it but when I compiled all changes revert back.
Thanks in Advance and for the response !
Best Regards,
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 8:58 am
by chegewara
There is 2 things:
- on PC with "esp32" you should not be able to flash C3 with this sdkconfig
- yes, you can use this command and all should be fine:
Code: Select all
idf.py set-target esp32c3
idf.py flash
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 12:14 pm
by iamcalledusman
thank you for the response!
I run this command :idf.py set-target esp32c3"
and got the following response
"IDF_PATH environment variable needs to be set to use this tool"
I will try to resolve this message and try to flash the esp32_c3 by using commands as you mentioned. And will update you further on it.
Thank You!
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 8:39 pm
by iamcalledusman
I have tested using the command and load the program as shown in the image "using_command_line".
and I get the same output on dock light . As shown in the image.
This time output changes but still rebooting . Talking about the chip revision which should be a minimum 3. Can you help me in this regard?
Thanks in advance !
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:45 pm
by chegewara
Try:
Then use slash(/) to enable searching and try to find word "revision" and change minimum required revision to 2.
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 10:07 am
by iamcalledusman
thank you so much for the help !
It worked!
I want to share my observations for the newcomers in this post.
When I run the "idf.py menuconfig" command and find the "revision" by '/' character as described by you.
Made changes, and run these two commands
idf.py set-target esp32c3
idf.py flash
then it reverts changes back to revision = 3 and I got the same error.
but when I directly run the command " idf.py flash " after set revision =2, it worked!
is there any reason behind that?
In the end, again thank you!
Best Regards,
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2021 5:57 pm
by chegewara
When you set target with
then default values are applied in sdkconfig.
Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue
Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2021 8:45 am
by iamcalledusman
thank you !