Page 1 of 1

esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 7:41 pm
by iamcalledusman
Hi All,
Need your help, I have installed the esp-IDF and espressif tools for esp32_c3. Version is the master branch. I also tried all versions of esp-idf 4.1,4.2 and 4.3 all have the same response. The response is that esp32_c3 reboots again and again with the following as mentioned in the attached image "reboots_continously". Can you help me in this regard? Everything works well, compiling and downloading into esp32_c3

Thanks in Advance

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 7:56 pm
by chegewara
Just make sure you are not using strapping pins:
The strapping combination of GPIO8 = 0 and GPIO9 = 0 is invalid and will trigger unexpected behavior.
page 14: https://www.espressif.com/sites/default ... eet_en.pdf

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:43 am
by iamcalledusman
thank you so much for the response. No, i am not using the strapping pins ,. One thing more which I have observed is that I have installed the esp-idf into another pc and its still working fine. In comparison between these two PCs, I have observed one thing that the working PC has the following sdkconfig file as attached wth the esp32_c3 is enabled and another image is attached with nonworking pc with esp32 enabled.

Is that the issue? can you help me where to enable esp32_c3 so that it gets enabled in the esp32_c3 file? I manually changed it but when I compiled all changes revert back.

Thanks in Advance and for the response !

Best Regards,

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 8:58 am
by chegewara
There is 2 things:
- on PC with "esp32" you should not be able to flash C3 with this sdkconfig
- yes, you can use this command and all should be fine:

Code: Select all

idf.py set-target esp32c3
idf.py flash

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 12:14 pm
by iamcalledusman
thank you for the response!

I run this command :idf.py set-target esp32c3"

and got the following response

"IDF_PATH environment variable needs to be set to use this tool"

I will try to resolve this message and try to flash the esp32_c3 by using commands as you mentioned. And will update you further on it.

Thank You!

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 8:39 pm
by iamcalledusman
I have tested using the command and load the program as shown in the image "using_command_line".

and I get the same output on dock light . As shown in the image.

This time output changes but still rebooting . Talking about the chip revision which should be a minimum 3. Can you help me in this regard?

Thanks in advance !

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:45 pm
by chegewara
Try:

Code: Select all

idf.py menuconfig
Then use slash(/) to enable searching and try to find word "revision" and change minimum required revision to 2.

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 10:07 am
by iamcalledusman
thank you so much for the help !

It worked!

I want to share my observations for the newcomers in this post.

When I run the "idf.py menuconfig" command and find the "revision" by '/' character as described by you.

Made changes, and run these two commands
idf.py set-target esp32c3
idf.py flash

then it reverts changes back to revision = 3 and I got the same error.

but when I directly run the command " idf.py flash " after set revision =2, it worked!

is there any reason behind that?

In the end, again thank you!

Best Regards,

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2021 5:57 pm
by chegewara
When you set target with

Code: Select all

idf.py set-target esp32xx
then default values are applied in sdkconfig.

Re: esp32-C3 esp-idf issue

Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2021 8:45 am
by iamcalledusman
thank you !