Page 1 of 1

SPI SRAM test fail

Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2020 11:10 pm
by zliudr
I get my wrover-b from digikey so there's no way they didn't pass QA, right? This particular module has been reflowed onto my board. Everything looks great. I've used it as a dev board for my firmware for about a week or two. And then is started reporting spi sram failure. At first it was just a few times at boot that recovered after rebooting a few times. Then it would take some time with power off before it can work. Now it's mostly not working. I have a second unit that does this too. Here's log. Failure happens at different locations but all very low side of the memory address. I wonder what happened. QA issue? I reflowed at too high temperature? I use SAC305. Is espressif also using SAC305?

E (1634) spiram: SPI SRAM memory test fail. 74/131072 writes failed, first @ 3F8052A0

E (1634) cpu_start: External RAM failed memory test!

Re: SPI SRAM test fail

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:12 am
by WiFive
Have you tried SPIRAM_2T_MODE in idf v4.3?

Re: SPI SRAM test fail

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:15 am
by zliudr
I'm on ESP-IDF V3.3 but if what you said is a potential solution, I can go with that. Before starting though, could you explain what is this 2T mode and how does it solve my SPIRAM problem? thanks.

Re: SPI SRAM test fail

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:22 am
by zliudr
Wow, what a bummer! "Some ram chips have issues". I've had to devices out of less than 100 and another one or two that showed this occasionally. I didn't choose those RAM chip!

https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... am-2t-mode

Seems like release 3.3 has this feature too. I'll give it a go. Nope, there's no such option. Menuconfig ends at the second to the last item:

https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... ram-config

I added that option to the config by hand but it got removed after I compiled. Is there any patches I can apply to my 3.3 to enable this feature? I may have to set up a 4.1 version tool chain to try and migrate my project. That's a huge move at my stage of development.

Re: SPI SRAM test fail

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2020 12:54 pm
by WiFive
That may or may not be your problem, there is a list of psram chipid here, but it was removed later. https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/co ... eedd4cc720