Page 1 of 1

Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 2:04 pm
by arturlazarini
Hi everyone,

I am having this issue while flashing my ESP32 Wroom with my custom board in the attachments (I dont have a devkit).
Capturar2.JPG
Schematics
Capturar2.JPG (85.29 KiB) Viewed 10637 times
Looks like my flashing was complete:

Code: Select all

Artur@Artur MSYS /e/Projetos/ESP32/SoftwareAT/esp32-at
$ make flash
Flashing binaries to serial port COM5 (app at offset 0x10000)...
esptool.py v2.0-beta2
Connecting........_____....._____....._____....._____....._____..
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Attaching SPI flash...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 4MB
Flash params set to 0x0220
Compressed 13120 bytes to 7344...
Wrote 13120 bytes (7344 compressed) at 0x00001000 in 0.7 seconds (effective 158.9 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 144 bytes to 67...
Wrote 144 bytes (67 compressed) at 0x0000f000 in 0.0 seconds (effective 115.8 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 849232 bytes to 481170...
Wrote 849232 bytes (481170 compressed) at 0x00010000 in 43.0 seconds (effective 157.9 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 3072 bytes to 111...
Wrote 3072 bytes (111 compressed) at 0x00008000 in 0.0 seconds (effective 1741.6 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Hard resetting...
If i press the only the EN button, this is what shows on monitor:

Code: Select all

$ make monitor
--- Miniterm on COM5  115200,8,N,1 ---
--- Quit: Ctrl+] | Menu: Ctrl+T | Help: Ctrl+T followed by Ctrl+H ---
ets Jun  8 2016 00:22:57

rst:0x1 (POWERON_RESET),boot:0x1 (DOWNLOAD_BOOT(UART0/UART1/SDIO_FEI_REO_V2))
waiting for download
So I suppose the device is seeing my GPIO0 as low, even though it should be high?

My GPIO12 (MTDI) is low using the internal pull-down so my device should woek in 3.3V, but my pins GPIO0, GPIO2 and GPIO15 (Strapping pins) are showing with 1.6V.
Shouldn't it be around 3.3V?

PS.: Can't flash using ESP Download Tools 3.4.4. (Picute in the attachments).
Capturar3.JPG
Capturar3.JPG (153.56 KiB) Viewed 10637 times
Im trying to run the app like crazy but nothing works.
Any ideias?


Thanks !

Best Regards,
Artur Lazarini

Re: Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:14 pm
by martinayotte
According to your schematic, you're missing a PullUp on IO0

Re: Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:24 pm
by arturlazarini
Hi,
I already tried that.
I used a 10k pullup in GPIO0, but my device started do reset the USB.
Like if it were pluged and unpluged every 20 seconds.

Because of that I cant connect or do anything.

It looks like my GPIO0 is connected to 1.8V directly.

Thank you all.

Best regards,
Artur Lazarini

Re: Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:32 pm
by arturlazarini
Dear Martin,

I already tried to put a 10K pullup to 3.3V in GPIO0.

But my device gets crazy and starts to "reboot", like if someone keep on pluging and unpluging the USB conection.

Thank you for the response.

Best regards,
Artur Lazarini

Re: Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:18 pm
by WiFive
1152000 has extra zero on DL tool

Re: Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:55 am
by ESP_Sprite
What is your power supply? It sounds like you're feeding the ESP32 from the 3.3V output of the USB-to-serial converter. These things usually can only supply 100mA or so, which is way less than the ESP32 requires when turning on its WiFi peripherals; this causes a brown-out and that can result in the issues you describe.

Re: Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 11:07 am
by arturlazarini
Hi evereyone,

Im really using the 3.3v output from my USB convertes, that might be it.
I will try to change my power supply.

Thank you guys for the help.

Re: Problem running ESP32-Wroom

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:59 pm
by arturlazarini
ESP_Sprite wrote:What is your power supply? It sounds like you're feeding the ESP32 from the 3.3V output of the USB-to-serial converter. These things usually can only supply 100mA or so, which is way less than the ESP32 requires when turning on its WiFi peripherals; this causes a brown-out and that can result in the issues you describe.

Dear Sprite,

That was it.
Now the device is working.

Thanks for the help.