Hi,
I am using ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8 in my project. I require two set of UART lines , I can use pin 34 and 35 as one set. what are all the pins I can use for UART lines?
When I look at the IC datasheet, I found there are three set of UART lines so I look up the I/O MUX table to find it. I found that the pins that has UART is already used for other purpose in the module. Can I use other pins as UART?
I am attaching the I/O MUX table and the blue highlighted text represents the UART Lines.
UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
- Attachments
-
- ESP32_MUX.png (296.42 KiB) Viewed 7435 times
-
- Posts: 1706
- Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2022 7:38 pm
- Location: Europe, Germany
Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
Yes: https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... ation-pinsCan I use other pins as UART?
Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
Hi,
If is it possible to configure any GPIO pins as UART then why do manufacturers particularly specify UART pins in I/O MUX table.
If is it possible to configure any GPIO pins as UART then why do manufacturers particularly specify UART pins in I/O MUX table.
-
- Posts: 9730
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
Because that's the 'default' pins for that function; e.g. the ROM uses (or can use) those.
Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
Kindly explain in detail.
-
- Posts: 1706
- Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2022 7:38 pm
- Location: Europe, Germany
Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
Because that is what the IO MUX can do. If this is what you need, you can route a signal to/via the IO MUX directly. If it's not, you can/have to use the GPIO matrix to route the signal to the IO MUX. TL;DR: IO MUX and GPIO matrix are different things; both are used/set up if/as needed by the IDF's drivers to connect signals to desired pins.
Re: UART Lines in ESP32-WROVER-IE-N8R8
Hi,
Thank you for the explanation.
I understand that we can use any GPIO pin as UART. If ESP32 supports 3 UART that means I cannot able to configure more than 3 UART.
Am I right?
Thank you for the explanation.
I understand that we can use any GPIO pin as UART. If ESP32 supports 3 UART that means I cannot able to configure more than 3 UART.
Am I right?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 103 guests