ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 11:05 am
ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
Some of the on-line methods suggested for installing ESP32-S2 support in the Arduino IDE require the use of an ESP32-S2 branch from the main Arduino ESP32 repository. That branch does not appear to be there now.
There are notes about ESP32-S2 support now being included and if you follow on the main repository page the instructions (for Windows) to git clone the repository over a standard ESP32 Arduino install then indeed you do now get the choice of a couple of ESP32-S2 boards. Most of the programs I tried with my ESP32-S2 Saola board appear to work OK, so good news there.
Is there a timescale for S2 support being integrated into the Arduino Boards Manager update, currently at version 1.0.6 ?
And is the integrated S2 support as up to date as the previous branch was ?
There are notes about ESP32-S2 support now being included and if you follow on the main repository page the instructions (for Windows) to git clone the repository over a standard ESP32 Arduino install then indeed you do now get the choice of a couple of ESP32-S2 boards. Most of the programs I tried with my ESP32-S2 Saola board appear to work OK, so good news there.
Is there a timescale for S2 support being integrated into the Arduino Boards Manager update, currently at version 1.0.6 ?
And is the integrated S2 support as up to date as the previous branch was ?
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
S2 support will be released in arduino-esp32 v2.0, for now it is development revision in master branch.
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 11:05 am
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
Is the old branch ESP32-S2 still avaialble, I would like to test an issue I have raised to do with PWM against that previous core ?
The problem with the new 'development version' seems to be one that might have been spotted some time ago.
The problem with the new 'development version' seems to be one that might have been spotted some time ago.
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
Yes and no. You cant checkout to esp32s2 branch, but you can checkout to particular commit that was inside that branch.
Probably it is not latest commit from esp32s2 branch (from January), but it works good to me:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... 3c2c81b84a
Probably it is not latest commit from esp32s2 branch (from January), but it works good to me:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... 3c2c81b84a
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
As of today we have support for S2 and C3 in arduino IDE thru boards manager. It is still RC version, but it easy to install:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... c3-support
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... c3-support
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
Hello,
currently trying to use arduino for flashing my ESP32 S2 board.
Instead of getting the serial information from my sketch ( Wifi Scan example), I get the esp ROM information and release candidate tag.
a) Is there any special option to be set in order to get the right messages ?
b) Is this a configuration option in Arduino
Sorry, working till now with other boards and Arduino, never sow this log before.
Thanks for your help
currently trying to use arduino for flashing my ESP32 S2 board.
Instead of getting the serial information from my sketch ( Wifi Scan example), I get the esp ROM information and release candidate tag.
a) Is there any special option to be set in order to get the right messages ?
b) Is this a configuration option in Arduino
Sorry, working till now with other boards and Arduino, never sow this log before.
Thanks for your help
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
Official support for S2 and C3 has been added few weeks ago in v2.0.0 and can be installed from boards manager.
As to your problem, it is hard to say without code, because logs seems to look normal (yes, you should see esp ROM logs) and then you see nothing.
Do you have in setup:
As to your problem, it is hard to say without code, because logs seems to look normal (yes, you should see esp ROM logs) and then you see nothing.
Do you have in setup:
Code: Select all
Serial.begin(115200);
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
yes, Serial is used in Setup and speed set to that speed as well.
As mentioned before it is the standard Wifiscan Sketch from examples folder.
I use this for all boards to check standard functionallity
Do I need to set any special efuse or need to flash bootloader first ?
thanks
As mentioned before it is the standard Wifiscan Sketch from examples folder.
I use this for all boards to check standard functionallity
Do I need to set any special efuse or need to flash bootloader first ?
thanks
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
In case you've been updated from an older ESP32 board library, uninstall the older version by using a file manager. Look at /home/user/.arduino15/packages/esp32/hardware/esp32. Maybe you still have the old RC version. Just delete that folder.
Also there are different board software variants available on Arduino board manager. Try ESP32S2 Native USB.
Also there are different board software variants available on Arduino board manager. Try ESP32S2 Native USB.
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2021 7:52 am
Re: ESP32-S2 with Arduino IDE
I can't get a port conection in IDE, stays grayed out. Using Windows 10.
I have followed the unstructions , installed all the drivers . All the ESP boards are listed including ESP32s.
The description of the board I bought on Amazone is
"SeeKool ESP-32S ESP32 Development Board WiFi + Bluetooth 2-in-1
Dual Core 2.4 GHz Antenna Module with RF Antenna Amp AP STA
Filter Arduino IDE, Ultra-Low Power" jpeg imaged attached.
This is my third of playing with this with no luck for a COM3 conection
Under Boards in the IDE there is a list of things enabled and disabled. Is there
something that has to be done there? JPEG attached.
Thanks for any help
I have followed the unstructions , installed all the drivers . All the ESP boards are listed including ESP32s.
The description of the board I bought on Amazone is
"SeeKool ESP-32S ESP32 Development Board WiFi + Bluetooth 2-in-1
Dual Core 2.4 GHz Antenna Module with RF Antenna Amp AP STA
Filter Arduino IDE, Ultra-Low Power" jpeg imaged attached.
This is my third of playing with this with no luck for a COM3 conection
Under Boards in the IDE there is a list of things enabled and disabled. Is there
something that has to be done there? JPEG attached.
Thanks for any help
- Attachments
-
- IMG_4293.jpeg (1.76 MiB) Viewed 16639 times
-
- nodemcu-esp32-overview.jpg (216.33 KiB) Viewed 16639 times
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: brebisson and 91 guests