Hi
After some test I have notice that distance transmission is not 1km as declared but about 200m.
There is some setting that I can do for mprove distance?
Thanks
ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
I don't believe ESP-NOW claims any sort of range. You might get 200m in an open area.
Perhaps you mean LR (low rate) mode?
Perhaps you mean LR (low rate) mode?
Re: ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
From your link:
The Espressif-specific ESP-NOW protocol and Long Range mode, which supports up to 1 km of data traffic
The Espressif-specific ESP-NOW protocol and Long Range mode, which supports up to 1 km of data traffic
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
Those are two different features. There should be another bullet point. Would you like the documentation fixed (along with the English language), or would you like to have long distance transmission?
Re: ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
Hi
I would improve if possible distance transmission
I'm use this example:
https://espressif-docs.readthedocs-host ... spnow.html
Can I activate LR MODE in that example?
Thanks
I would improve if possible distance transmission
I'm use this example:
https://espressif-docs.readthedocs-host ... spnow.html
Can I activate LR MODE in that example?
Thanks
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
esp_now_init() is an opaque function hidden in the blob, but you may be able to copy this example with only the LR mode available.
Note that arduino does not have CONFIG_ESPNOW_ENABLE_LONG_RANGE set, so you would need to compile your own sdk.
If you just want to test the range, you can use this example. Make sure to call WiFi.enableLongRange(true) on both the AP and STA before calling WiFi.begin.
Note that arduino does not have CONFIG_ESPNOW_ENABLE_LONG_RANGE set, so you would need to compile your own sdk.
If you just want to test the range, you can use this example. Make sure to call WiFi.enableLongRange(true) on both the AP and STA before calling WiFi.begin.
Re: ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
Hi
Recompile is too complicated...
I'm in searching in function for set power transmission or something similar to this.
Why LR is not enabled in Arduino???
Recompile is too complicated...
I'm in searching in function for set power transmission or something similar to this.
Why LR is not enabled in Arduino???
-
- Posts: 826
- Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 3:20 pm
Re: ESP NOW how improve distance transmission?
You are almost certain to lose some packets on a long distance signal. TCP is resilient to packet loss. I'd go with that instead of having to write error routines myself.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests