OpenThread IPv6 to IPv4 ping problem
Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2024 3:20 pm
Hi there, i have been struggling with this one nut that has been holding me back for a couple of day now and i am out of ideas what to try.
TLDR: Pinging and in general communication within Thread network works, but once i try to ping outside IPv4 address of my PC for example, it does not work, neither does pinging 8.8.8.8 work.
I am sorry to be asking here, but i am pretty unsure what to do now, i have tried a lots of things but they do not work, so any help will be really appreciated.
Hardware:
ESP Thread Border Router from Espressif: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005005688193617.html
ESP32-H2-DevKitM-1-N4: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005005252175587.html
How to reproduce:
I have followed the official docs for setting up border router here: https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... d_run.html
That means i have successfully:
ot_cli:
basic_thread_border_router:
Pinging
basic_thread_border_router IPv6 mleid:
ot_cli IPv6 mleid:
Pinging within Thread network also works just fine, here is pinging from ot_cli --->>> basic_thread_border_router:
Here is pinging from basic_thread_border_router --->>> ot_cli:
I have tried more things than these basic ones, but i have been cycling from reseting the devices to retry again and again so many times i do not know for sure what i did and did not try already. Any help will be appreciated, thank you!
PS: If you just so happened to find a post that is exactly the same name, that was me accidentally hitting the submit.
TLDR: Pinging and in general communication within Thread network works, but once i try to ping outside IPv4 address of my PC for example, it does not work, neither does pinging 8.8.8.8 work.
I am sorry to be asking here, but i am pretty unsure what to do now, i have tried a lots of things but they do not work, so any help will be really appreciated.
Hardware:
ESP Thread Border Router from Espressif: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005005688193617.html
ESP32-H2-DevKitM-1-N4: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005005252175587.html
How to reproduce:
I have followed the official docs for setting up border router here: https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... d_run.html
That means i have successfully:
- cloned the esp-idf project
- cloned the esp-thread-br
- built the ot_rcp with correctly setting the OPENTHREAD_RCP_SPI to yes using menuconfig
- configured the basic_thread_border_router using menuconfig to set OPENTHREAD_RADIO_SPINEL_SPI to yes, pre-fill the WiFi ssid and password and ticked autostart as well
- flashed the basic_thread_border_router
- built and flashed the ot_cli
- put the dataset in place
ot_cli:
Code: Select all
> state
router
Done
Code: Select all
> netdata show
Prefixes:
fd7d:131e:fe56:1::/64 paos low 9400
Routes:
fd7d:131e:fe56:2:0:0::/96 sn low 9400
fc00::/7 sa med 9400
Services:
44970 5d fd000db800a000006745bf3c79453177d120 s 9400
Contexts:
fd7d:131e:fe56:1::/64 1 c
Commissioning:
59479 - - -
Done
Code: Select all
Done
> state
leader
Code: Select all
> netdata show
Prefixes:
fd7d:131e:fe56:1::/64 paos low 9400
Routes:
fd7d:131e:fe56:2:0:0::/96 sn low 9400
fc00::/7 sa med 9400
Services:
44970 5d fd000db800a000006745bf3c79453177d120 s 9400
Contexts:
fd7d:131e:fe56:1::/64 1 c
Commissioning:
59479 - - -
Done
Code: Select all
> nat64 state
PrefixManager: Active
Done
basic_thread_border_router IPv6 mleid:
Code: Select all
> ipaddr mleid
fd00:db8:a0:0:6745:bf3c:7945:3177
Done
Code: Select all
> ipaddr mleid
fd00:db8:a0:0:523a:b933:67a3:1a2b
Done
Code: Select all
> ping fd00:db8:a0:0:523a:b933:67a3:1a2b
16 bytes from fd00:db8:a0:0:523a:b933:67a3:1a2b: icmp_seq=2 hlim=255 time=43ms
1 packets transmitted, 1 packets received. Packet loss = 0.0%. Round-trip min/avg/max = 43/43.0/43 ms.
Done
Code: Select all
Done
> ping fd00:db8:a0:0:6745:bf3c:7945:3177
16 bytes from fd00:db8:a0:0:6745:bf3c:7945:3177: icmp_seq=2 hlim=255 time=46ms
1 packets transmitted, 1 packets received. Packet loss = 0.0%. Round-trip min/avg/max = 46/46.0/46 ms.
Done
I have tried more things than these basic ones, but i have been cycling from reseting the devices to retry again and again so many times i do not know for sure what i did and did not try already. Any help will be appreciated, thank you!
PS: If you just so happened to find a post that is exactly the same name, that was me accidentally hitting the submit.