Page 1 of 2

Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:30 pm
by DouglasWWolf
Gang,

There is a well known bug with the ESP-32 that causes it to fail to connect to an SSID that contains an embedded space.

Do we know if there is a fix for that coming? I'm trying to get to market with an ESP32 based product, and my users are going to *hate* having to change their SSID's.

--- Doug

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:15 am
by ESP_Sprite
Erm, how did you conclude this is a 'well known bug' or even a bug at all? I see no issues about this on the Github, and most Google hits turn out to be something else (like e.g. bad urldecoding when the SSID was passed through a webpage, or the AP being 'myap 5GHz', where the space is not an issue but the 5GHz access point is.)

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:34 pm
by vonnieda
I also know of no such bug. My product is regularly tested using SSIDs with spaces, special characters, emoji, etc. SSID is defined as

Code: Select all

uint8_t ssid[32]
and there is nothing special about spaces.

Jason

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:46 am
by Ritesh
Hi,

Which ESP32 IDF you are using in which you have seen space related issue?

We are also using stable ESP32 IDF 2.1 stable branch in which not seeing any issue like that.

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 3:07 am
by DouglasWWolf
Guys,

I just wanted to say thank you for the replies.

I tried this several months ago and could not get it to connect to my 2.4Ghz router with an SSID of "Volleyball Girls". I connects perfectly when I change the SSID to "Volleyball_Girls". (Changing the space to an underscore)

I'll try it again tomorrow and see what happens.

--- Doug

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 3:33 pm
by Ritesh
DouglasWWolf wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 3:07 am
Guys,

I just wanted to say thank you for the replies.

I tried this several months ago and could not get it to connect to my 2.4Ghz router with an SSID of "Volleyball Girls". I connects perfectly when I change the SSID to "Volleyball_Girls". (Changing the space to an underscore)

I'll try it again tomorrow and see what happens.

--- Doug
That's great. We have tried with space as SSID and able to connect successfully with configured router without any issue.

So, Please let me know full details of ESP32 IDF with logs as well so that we can check and provide suggestions for same.

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Sat Nov 14, 2020 10:49 pm
by autodog
Hello All,

Apologies for the necropost here, but I'm facing a similar issue:

It seems that my ESP32 devices cannot connect when the SSID contains both a space and a period (.) in the SSID:

Failing SSID example: MY 2.4 GHZ
Working SSID example: MY2.4GHZ
Working SSID example: MY 24 GHZ

This is easily reproducible on esp-idf v3.3.3 using the WiFi Station example:
https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/tr ... ed/station

Any ideas here? Unfortunately this has been encountered by several of our customers.

-AD

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:45 am
by autodog
After further testing, this does not appear to be an issue with esp-idf but rather a problem with one access point.

-AD

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2020 5:01 am
by Ritesh
autodog wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:45 am
After further testing, this does not appear to be an issue with esp-idf but rather a problem with one access point.

-AD
Hello,

I just want to know that how it is problem with one access point. can you please clarify for the same?

Re: Failure to connect to SSID with spaces in them

Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2020 4:21 am
by autodog
I just want to know that how it is problem with one access point. can you please clarify for the same?
To clarify, we had a specific 3rd party access point (not an ESP32) that was causing problems and preventing our ESP32 STA from connecting. The SSID on this AP had a special character that was causing confusion. We determined this was not an ESP32 issue.

-AD