ESP32 PSRAM support
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
nice news with 1.2 and 1.5 winbond's NOR Low Voltage Memories
Winbond’s New Low-Voltage NOR Flash Memories Designed Around ESP32 comes to the market in the form of a module as soon as possible.
we have then a new ESP32 that can regulate 1.2V and 1.5V from intern regulator? 1.8V ? and 3.3V ? or new Low Voltage ESP32?
how we work this out with pSRAM 1.8V or comes 1.2V and 1.5V other in 2018 ?
we was happy to find working 1.8V(3.3V) pSRAM and in 2018 we start again with searching and waiting?
we started allready in time with 1.8V ...
best wishes
rudi
Winbond’s New Low-Voltage NOR Flash Memories Designed Around ESP32 comes to the market in the form of a module as soon as possible.
we have then a new ESP32 that can regulate 1.2V and 1.5V from intern regulator? 1.8V ? and 3.3V ? or new Low Voltage ESP32?
how we work this out with pSRAM 1.8V or comes 1.2V and 1.5V other in 2018 ?
we was happy to find working 1.8V(3.3V) pSRAM and in 2018 we start again with searching and waiting?
we started allready in time with 1.8V ...
best wishes
rudi
-------------------------------------
love it, change it or leave it.
-------------------------------------
問候飛出去的朋友遍全球魯迪
love it, change it or leave it.
-------------------------------------
問候飛出去的朋友遍全球魯迪
-
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:54 am
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
why i can't find the xtensa-1.22.x-ext_ram_patch branch。
how can i get this.
tks!
how can i get this.
tks!
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
It is in master branch now
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 4:10 pm
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
So do I need to compile the xtensa toolchain on Windows for pSRAM support now?WiFive wrote:It is in master branch now
Or it is already in xtensa-esp32-elf-win32-1.22.0-73-ge28a011-5.2.0.zip // esp32_win32_msys2_environment_and_toolchain-20170918.zip ?
How about esp-idf? Do I need to checkout the feature/psram_malloc branch now? Or I can already use pSRAM with master branch? (I can see SPI RAM option in menuconfig with master branch already).
-
- Posts: 9709
- Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
You should be able to use all the (latest) vanilla toolchain and esp-idf branches to use psram. Support is in mainstream now, and the specific psram branches have been deprecated.
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
To all newbies out there (me included) testing pSRAM compatibility with their boards, here's what I did to get it working.
First of all make sure you're on the latest ESP-IDF verison. I'm on ESP-IDF v3.1-dev-380-gca3faa61 2nd stage bootloader as of testing this.
Second of all do you see SPI SRAM (sPRAM) tests being done during the startup sequence of the ESP32 like in the image bellow? If yes, then the problem might be within your code.
If no, it means that your start-up sequence output looks something like in the image bellow, with the SPI SRAM checks missing. If so, what I did to fix the problem was simply to go in the sdkconfig file in the root directory of your project, look for:
CONFIG_SPIRAM_SUPPORT=
and set it to:
CONFIG_SPIRAM_SUPPORT=y
For some reason, on my setup this feature was missing from make menuconfig. It only appeared after I've manually modified the sdkconfig file. Once configured in the sdkconfig file you should be able to see SPI RAM config options under make menuconfig ---> Component config ---> ESP32-specific ----> Support for external, SPI-connected RAM -----> SPI RAM config
The code that I've been using for testing the sPRAM can be found bellow under spram.rar
Fortunately it is stable at 80MHz flash and sPRAM
First of all make sure you're on the latest ESP-IDF verison. I'm on ESP-IDF v3.1-dev-380-gca3faa61 2nd stage bootloader as of testing this.
Second of all do you see SPI SRAM (sPRAM) tests being done during the startup sequence of the ESP32 like in the image bellow? If yes, then the problem might be within your code.
If no, it means that your start-up sequence output looks something like in the image bellow, with the SPI SRAM checks missing. If so, what I did to fix the problem was simply to go in the sdkconfig file in the root directory of your project, look for:
CONFIG_SPIRAM_SUPPORT=
and set it to:
CONFIG_SPIRAM_SUPPORT=y
For some reason, on my setup this feature was missing from make menuconfig. It only appeared after I've manually modified the sdkconfig file. Once configured in the sdkconfig file you should be able to see SPI RAM config options under make menuconfig ---> Component config ---> ESP32-specific ----> Support for external, SPI-connected RAM -----> SPI RAM config
The code that I've been using for testing the sPRAM can be found bellow under spram.rar
Fortunately it is stable at 80MHz flash and sPRAM
- Attachments
-
- spram.rar
- (13.49 MiB) Downloaded 930 times
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
update
=======
for more details [ Datasheet ] see the ESP-PSRAM64 & ESP-PSRAM64H post
best wishes
rudi
=======
for more details [ Datasheet ] see the ESP-PSRAM64 & ESP-PSRAM64H post
best wishes
rudi
-------------------------------------
love it, change it or leave it.
-------------------------------------
問候飛出去的朋友遍全球魯迪
love it, change it or leave it.
-------------------------------------
問候飛出去的朋友遍全球魯迪
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
Hopefully, 8 MB psRAM will be supported in esp-idf ...
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
btw: did you note the update on modul [ordering info v1.7 from 2018.June]?loboris wrote:Hopefully, 8 MB psRAM will be supported in esp-idf ...
i think it is in the pipe and the HW is ready for MP ordering
ESP32-WROVER 64-Mbit PSRAM*
ESP32-WROVER-I 64-Mbit PSRAM*
best wishes
rudi
- Attachments
-
- espressif_products_ordering_information_en_June2018.pdf
- updated ordering info JUNE 2018
Wrover 64MBIT PSRAM ( Side 2 ) - (395.2 KiB) Downloaded 852 times
-------------------------------------
love it, change it or leave it.
-------------------------------------
問候飛出去的朋友遍全球魯迪
love it, change it or leave it.
-------------------------------------
問候飛出去的朋友遍全球魯迪
Re: ESP32 PSRAM support
They probably aren't manufacturing the 32mbit for whatever optimization reasons. But it will be a bit difficult to use all 64mbit since it would be 32mbit per CPU unshared so any task using spiram would have to be pinned to the appropriate core and not share memory with tasks on the other core. The extra 32mbit could also be used as a data stash I guess.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 121 guests