unit-test-app has no COM port

Omgitskillah
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2022 10:00 pm

unit-test-app has no COM port

Postby Omgitskillah » Sun Feb 13, 2022 10:19 pm

Hello,
I followed the steps highlighted in https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... tests.html
on how to make and run a unit test.

I wrote a simple component and built the project while in the unit-test-app directory with
[Codebox]
-T path-to-custom-components
[/Codebox].

however, after flashing the chip with the unit-test-app and resetting the chip, there is no com port that enumerates to monitor.

I am using a Feather S2 board from Adafruit found here https://www.adafruit.com/product/4769

Please help me figure out what I am missing or how to go about this issue.

I have also attached the source for how I approached setting up for the test
Attachments
unit_testing.zip
(20.71 KiB) Downloaded 232 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9759
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: unit-test-app has no COM port

Postby ESP_Sprite » Mon Feb 14, 2022 1:35 am

Did you select CDC as your console in menuconfig? If not, it'll try to do the comms over the UART port, and the Feather doesn't have that connected to USB.

Omgitskillah
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2022 10:00 pm

Re: unit-test-app has no COM port

Postby Omgitskillah » Mon Feb 14, 2022 12:23 pm

Thank you for responding.

I hadn't done that. But now I have. Still no output from the USB COM port.

I know that when I write an application to log to CDC, I can for sure get serial data on the COM port that enumerates with said app.

COM14 comes up when I hold boot button then reset the chip.

With custom software that uses CDC to log, COM3 shows up on board reset.

If I flash with the unit-test-app, no COM port will enumerate after a reset.

Check out the attached screenshots
Attachments
port_enumeration.png
port_enumeration.png (12.1 KiB) Viewed 2134 times
config_cdc.png
config_cdc.png (23.73 KiB) Viewed 2134 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9759
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: unit-test-app has no COM port

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Feb 15, 2022 1:36 am

Odd... perhaps your test app is reconfiguring the USB GPIOs?

Omgitskillah
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2022 10:00 pm

Re: unit-test-app has no COM port

Postby Omgitskillah » Tue Feb 15, 2022 10:51 am

I don't think it changes the configuration.
I checked whether the console is diverted to the UART after I switch to CDC. Nothing comes out of UART0 TX/RX.

So what I did to go around this for anyone else who is in this position:
1. Using the Adafruit ESPtool chromium tool, erase the chip
2. build the unit-test-app with your selected components (A script to autofill your components helps)
3. Connect an FTDI chip to RX/TX pins next to the SDI pins of the FeatherS2
4. Open Putty/CoolTerm to the FTDI cable at 115200 (Assuming you don't change the default configs)
5. Hold the boot button then tap the reset button to go into the bootloader
6. Flash the chip through the COM port that enumerates
7. Reset the board
8. You will then be able to navigate through the unit test app console

I think I will just stick to this option till I figure out how to do it through the USB. The only downside I can see is that I had the feather rigged up to a UART device and had to unmount it to use the port. Otherwise works just fine.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 181 guests