FreeRTOS Task Stack in PSRAM

si4web
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2021 5:11 pm

FreeRTOS Task Stack in PSRAM

Postby si4web » Wed Aug 18, 2021 5:27 pm

Currently trying to get a task running with its stack placed in the PSRAM (Task needs far more than 150k, but for sure less than 4M, uses LwIP). I know about the issues with Task Stacks and PSRAM Cache workarround on Wafer Revision 0/1 Chips.
Now to my question: Will a rev 3 chip do the trick in this case? I cant find a clear statement if this is possible with rev 3 chips, the doc only says: "don't do this with the workaround", but not "Its okay with fixed rev 3 chips"
btw: When i ignore the issue and place the stack there anyway, i always get a Stackoverflow Runtime Error.
Has anyone tried this already?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9708
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: FreeRTOS Task Stack in PSRAM

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Aug 19, 2021 12:57 am

It should be fine on the v3. Note that as your stack is in PSRAM, you may not be able to call functions that write to flash or otherwise disable the cache; if you do so, you will immediately get a clear error message (something like 'external memory access while cache is disabled' iirc) so it should be easy to debug.

Not sure why you get the stack overflow, by the way. It would help if you post your code, perhaps it's something obvious.

si4web
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2021 5:11 pm

Re: FreeRTOS Task Stack in PSRAM

Postby si4web » Fri Aug 20, 2021 3:07 pm

I am now using a v3 Chip. I found out that if i force every malloc to PSRAM (Maximum malloc()size, in bytes, to always put in internal memory = 0) i get a stack overflow, otherwise (16384, default) a corrupted heap.
Main:

Code: Select all

/* WiFi station Example

   This example code is in the Public Domain (or CC0 licensed, at your option.)

   Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, this
   software is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR
   CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied.
*/
#include <string.h>
#include "freertos/FreeRTOS.h"
#include "freertos/task.h"
#include "freertos/event_groups.h"
#include "esp_system.h"
#include "esp_wifi.h"
#include "esp_event.h"
#include "esp_log.h"
#include "nvs_flash.h"

#include "lwip/err.h"
#include "lwip/sys.h"

#include "forte_Init.h"

/* The examples use WiFi configuration that you can set via project configuration menu

   If you'd rather not, just change the below entries to strings with
   the config you want - ie #define EXAMPLE_WIFI_SSID "mywifissid"
*/
#define EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_SSID      CONFIG_ESP_WIFI_SSID
#define EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_PASS      CONFIG_ESP_WIFI_PASSWORD
#define EXAMPLE_ESP_MAXIMUM_RETRY  CONFIG_ESP_MAXIMUM_RETRY

/* FreeRTOS event group to signal when we are connected*/
static EventGroupHandle_t s_wifi_event_group;

/* The event group allows multiple bits for each event, but we only care about two events:
 * - we are connected to the AP with an IP
 * - we failed to connect after the maximum amount of retries */
#define WIFI_CONNECTED_BIT BIT0
#define WIFI_FAIL_BIT      BIT1

static const char *TAG = "wifi station";

static int s_retry_num = 0;

static void event_handler(void* arg, esp_event_base_t event_base,
                                int32_t event_id, void* event_data)
{
    if (event_base == WIFI_EVENT && event_id == WIFI_EVENT_STA_START) {
        esp_wifi_connect();
    } else if (event_base == WIFI_EVENT && event_id == WIFI_EVENT_STA_DISCONNECTED) {
        if (s_retry_num < EXAMPLE_ESP_MAXIMUM_RETRY) {
            esp_wifi_connect();
            s_retry_num++;
            ESP_LOGI(TAG, "retry to connect to the AP");
        } else {
            xEventGroupSetBits(s_wifi_event_group, WIFI_FAIL_BIT);
        }
        ESP_LOGI(TAG,"connect to the AP fail");
    } else if (event_base == IP_EVENT && event_id == IP_EVENT_STA_GOT_IP) {
        ip_event_got_ip_t* event = (ip_event_got_ip_t*) event_data;
        ESP_LOGI(TAG, "got ip:" IPSTR, IP2STR(&event->ip_info.ip));
        s_retry_num = 0;
        xEventGroupSetBits(s_wifi_event_group, WIFI_CONNECTED_BIT);
    }
}

void wifi_init_sta(void)
{
    s_wifi_event_group = xEventGroupCreate();

    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_netif_init());

    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_event_loop_create_default());
    esp_netif_create_default_wifi_sta();

    wifi_init_config_t cfg = WIFI_INIT_CONFIG_DEFAULT();
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_init(&cfg));

    esp_event_handler_instance_t instance_any_id;
    esp_event_handler_instance_t instance_got_ip;
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_event_handler_instance_register(WIFI_EVENT,
                                                        ESP_EVENT_ANY_ID,
                                                        &event_handler,
                                                        NULL,
                                                        &instance_any_id));
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_event_handler_instance_register(IP_EVENT,
                                                        IP_EVENT_STA_GOT_IP,
                                                        &event_handler,
                                                        NULL,
                                                        &instance_got_ip));

    wifi_config_t wifi_config = {
        .sta = {
            .ssid = EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_SSID,
            .password = EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_PASS,
            /* Setting a password implies station will connect to all security modes including WEP/WPA.
             * However these modes are deprecated and not advisable to be used. Incase your Access point
             * doesn't support WPA2, these mode can be enabled by commenting below line */
	     .threshold.authmode = WIFI_AUTH_WPA2_PSK,

            .pmf_cfg = {
                .capable = true,
                .required = false
            },
        },
    };
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_set_mode(WIFI_MODE_STA) );
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_set_config(WIFI_IF_STA, &wifi_config) );
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_wifi_start() );

    ESP_LOGI(TAG, "wifi_init_sta finished.");

    /* Waiting until either the connection is established (WIFI_CONNECTED_BIT) or connection failed for the maximum
     * number of re-tries (WIFI_FAIL_BIT). The bits are set by event_handler() (see above) */
    EventBits_t bits = xEventGroupWaitBits(s_wifi_event_group,
            WIFI_CONNECTED_BIT | WIFI_FAIL_BIT,
            pdFALSE,
            pdFALSE,
            portMAX_DELAY);

    /* xEventGroupWaitBits() returns the bits before the call returned, hence we can test which event actually
     * happened. */
    if (bits & WIFI_CONNECTED_BIT) {
        ESP_LOGI(TAG, "connected to ap SSID:%s password:%s",
                 EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_SSID, EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_PASS);
    } else if (bits & WIFI_FAIL_BIT) {
        ESP_LOGI(TAG, "Failed to connect to SSID:%s, password:%s",
                 EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_SSID, EXAMPLE_ESP_WIFI_PASS);
    } else {
        ESP_LOGE(TAG, "UNEXPECTED EVENT");
    }

    /* The event will not be processed after unregister */
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_event_handler_instance_unregister(IP_EVENT, IP_EVENT_STA_GOT_IP, instance_got_ip));
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(esp_event_handler_instance_unregister(WIFI_EVENT, ESP_EVENT_ANY_ID, instance_any_id));
    vEventGroupDelete(s_wifi_event_group);
}

static void forte_thread(void *arg)
{
  forteGlobalInitialize();
  TForteInstance forteInstance = 0;
  int resultForte = forteStartInstanceGeneric(0, 0, &forteInstance);
  if(FORTE_OK == resultForte){
    forteJoinInstance(forteInstance);
  }else{
	  ESP_LOGI(TAG,"Error %d: Couldn't start forte\n", resultForte);
  }
  ESP_LOGI(TAG, "FORTE ENDED");
  forteGlobalDeinitialize();
  vTaskDelete(NULL);
}

#define FORTE_STACK_SIZE 1000000

void app_main(void)
{
    //Initialize NVS
	xTaskHandle xForteHandle;
	StaticTask_t xTaskBuffer;
	StackType_t *xStack;

    esp_err_t ret = nvs_flash_init();
    if (ret == ESP_ERR_NVS_NO_FREE_PAGES || ret == ESP_ERR_NVS_NEW_VERSION_FOUND) {
      ESP_ERROR_CHECK(nvs_flash_erase());
      ret = nvs_flash_init();
    }
    ESP_ERROR_CHECK(ret);


    ESP_LOGI(TAG, "ESP_WIFI_MODE_STA");
    wifi_init_sta();

    ESP_LOGI(TAG, "FREE HEAP: %d", esp_get_free_heap_size());
    vTaskDelay(1000);
    xStack = heap_caps_malloc(sizeof(StackType_t)*FORTE_STACK_SIZE, MALLOC_CAP_SPIRAM | MALLOC_CAP_8BIT | MALLOC_CAP_32BIT);
    //xStack = heap_caps_malloc(sizeof(StackType_t)*FORTE_STACK_SIZE, MALLOC_CAP_INTERNAL | MALLOC_CAP_8BIT | MALLOC_CAP_32BIT);
    ESP_LOGI(TAG, "Reservated Stack from %x to %x", (uint)xStack, ((uint)xStack) + FORTE_STACK_SIZE);
	if (xStack == NULL){
		ESP_LOGI(TAG, "FORTE STACK NOT ALLOCATED");
		vTaskDelay(3000);
	}
	ESP_LOGI(TAG, "FREE HEAP(after alloc): %d", esp_get_free_heap_size());
	xForteHandle = xTaskCreateStatic( forte_thread, ( const char * const ) "Forte", FORTE_STACK_SIZE , NULL, tskIDLE_PRIORITY+10, xStack, &xTaskBuffer);
    ESP_LOGI(TAG, "FORTE STARTED");


}

functions in Forte Thread are from a static library compiled from here:https://www.eclipse.org/4diac/en_rte.php
Any Ideas?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9708
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: FreeRTOS Task Stack in PSRAM

Postby ESP_Sprite » Sat Aug 21, 2021 2:18 am

I can imagine that something crashes if you set esp-idf to allocate everything in RAM; it's actually not a condition we test for and there may be some startup-related things that assume that their allocation ends up in internal memory. The heap corruption is a bit more worrying; do you get something like a backtrace there?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 90 guests