ESP32 DevKit is fried when powered externally.

abypaulvarghese

ESP32 DevKit is fried when powered externally.

Postby abypaulvarghese » Tue Oct 24, 2023 5:41 pm

Hello All,

I am a hobbyist and trying to making a gardening system with ESP32 DevKit. I have connected 12V DC adapter to LM2596 to convert it to a 5V and then it is connected to the VIN of the ESP32 Dev Kit. It works for sometime ( May be couple of hours)but not more than 3 or 4 hours. It got fried after that . I have ensured that the voltage is 5V at the output LM2596 while connecting it but not sure what happened. When it is powered on now (after fried), it is getting extremely hot within few seconds. The code is very simple Blynk app to turn a relay on for few seconds in every X minutes.The relay is connected to an solenoid valve that regulates the water. I am not sure what is causing it to fry ESP32 dev kit. During some google search, one of the post in this forum was mentioning about adding capacitors after LM2596. I am uncertain whether this is the issue or something else. Could any of you please help me to understand what should I do to prevent frying new ESP32 dev kits?

The block diagram is given here for your reference.

Attachments
ESP32_Block_Diagram.png
ESP32_Block_Diagram.png (9.74 KiB) Viewed 4520 times

ESP_Sprite

Re: ESP32 DevKit is fried when powered externally.

Postby ESP_Sprite » Wed Oct 25, 2023 1:24 am

What relay did you use and how did you connect it?

abypaulvarghese

Postby abypaulvarghese » Wed Oct 25, 2023 6:12 am

Hello,
Please find the full connection diagram
Image.

The relay is a normal 2 channel relay board is what I have used. Link is provided for reference :
https://robu.in/product/2-channel-isola ... 1MQAvD_BwE
Attachments
ESP32_Block_Diagram.png
ESP32_Block_Diagram.png (19.51 KiB) Viewed 4458 times

djixon

Postby djixon » Wed Oct 25, 2023 6:28 am

You could mess about two different things in your design: