Page 1 of 1

Problem programming ESP32-WROOM-32 on own designed PCB

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:29 pm
by 369281
For programming I used the following steps (https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... t-up-tools). I'm using for uploading J-Link in the command line and I receive in the command line programming and verify went OK (see added picture "command-line"). But the code isn't running on the ESP32, what do I wrong?

But when I upload the code to an ESP32 devkit V1 it works fine and the result in the command line is the same.

The RX and TX from the ESP32 on my own designed PCB are connected to another microcontroller (see added picture "schematic"), can this cause any problems?

I'm using the TDI, TDO, TMS and TCK also connected the 3.3V and GND.

Re: Problem programming ESP32-WROOM-32 on own designed PCB

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 10:39 am
by markxr
So you used jtag to program the flash (not uart bootmode programming) ?

How can you tell it isn't running?

Can you inspect the output of txd0 to see the firmare boot messages?

Re: Problem programming ESP32-WROOM-32 on own designed PCB

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 11:02 am
by 369281
Yes I'm using jtag to program the ESP32.

I wrote a simple program for blinking a LED and on the ESP32 devkit v1 it is working and on the own designed PCB not

What do you mean with this?
Can you inspect the output of txd0 to see the firmare boot messages? (the RX & TX are connected to the other microcontroller, so I think it is not possible)

Re: Problem programming ESP32-WROOM-32 on own designed PCB

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 10:08 pm
by Scott.Bonomi
I do not think the command window gets enough information to be useful. If you are using a J-link, you are probably running openocd somewhere in the background. I suggest you run it with a verbose stored log, with a command something like:

openocd -f interface/jlink.cfg -f board/esp32-wroom-32.cfg -d3 -l ./OCDLOG_Test.log

Which will overwrite the single log file each execution. I will give you a more complete picture of exactly what the system is doing, and if there is an issue it will be reflected there while possibly invisible to the command line user. I have modified the J-Link file to set my desired slower speed.