Page 1 of 1

I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 10:49 am
by thoraz
I created a board with ESP32-WROOM module with the intent to program it through an external USB to UART dongle, but now I can't do it: Eclipse returns "A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to ESP32: Timed out waiting for packet header". My schematic is the following

Image

and the dongle is like this one

Image

The signal TX0 on the module stay high (3.3V) while the RX0 seems to receive data. Are my connection in the schematic correct or I'm missing something?

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:07 am
by mikemoy
your missing a button on the EN line to reset it after you pull GPIO0 low to put it into programming mode.
Your also missing a pullup on GPIO0. I believe there is a internal pullup but you'd have to check that.

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:16 am
by senudajayalath
mikemoy wrote:
Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:07 am
your missing a button on the EN line to reset
According to thie official datasheet you do not need a reset button right ?

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:22 am
by mikemoy
You do not need a "button" but when flashing you need a way to pull EN low. His schematic has no provision for doing that.

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2021 3:14 am
by chegewara
mikemoy wrote: You do not need a "button" but when flashing you need a way to pull EN low. His schematic has no provision for doing that.
Actually you dont need to do it, its enough to pull down IO0 and then connect to power supply.

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:07 pm
by mikemoy
Actually you dont need to do it, its enough to pull down IO0 and then connect to power supply.
Sure, you can do it that way as well. But why bother when the EN and IO0 signals are built into the programming adapter. Just run the extra signal line. If your going to have a way to pull IO0 low, you might as well do the same for EN.

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:43 pm
by ESP_Minatel
Hi there!

Any progress on that?

It's quite important to keep signal LOW on GPIO0 during the BOOT process (after that you can release it to HIGH). Usually you have a auto program mode on most of development boards using two transistors on the serial DTR and RTS (see schematic below).


ESP_boot_circuit.png
ESP_boot_circuit.png (10.59 KiB) Viewed 8755 times


If you don't have this circuit embedded on your development board, you can create using a simple push button.

Re: I can't flash ESP32-WROOM module in my project

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2021 4:55 pm
by becorey
Your schematic shows P_GND (39) not connected. That should be connected to ground.